View Full Version : Updating Fedora kernel problem

17th July 2014, 04:33 PM
I am new to Fedora and have just installed Fedora 12 from CD.

I want to update to Fedora 20, mainly because in Fedora 12 I canít figure out how to enable my WIFI.

I have created a bootable USB drive using Fedora Live USB creator.

On boot with the USB I get 2 error messages.
error: file Ď.isolinux/vml inuz0Ď
error: you need to load the kernel first.

Press any key to continue......

Any ideas what I need to do?

Background info.
My PC is only about 18 months old and came pre-installed with Windows 8
It stopped working and I identified the prob was with the HD.
So I threw in an old HD from an old DELL I had lying around.
I tried installing a Win XP CD I had but that failed so I gave Fedora12 a go and it worked.
First time using Fedora so Iím not all that handy with it.

17th July 2014, 04:49 PM
I don't know what the text above appeared so garbled. apologies.

I am trying to update to Fedora 20 using a bootable USB I created using Fedora LiveUSB Creator.

On boot I get the following error.
error: file '/isol inux/vml inuz0' not found
error: you need to load the kernel first

Press any key to continue....

Any ideas what I need to do?

Background info:
I am new to Fedora.
I have an 18 month old pre-installed Windows 8 pc which packed in.
I identifed that the prob was the HD, so I swapped in an old HD i had from a Dell machine I had lying around.
I then tried to install XP but had some difficulties so tried a Fedora 12 CD I had lying around.
Fedora 12 works fine, but I can't seem to enable my WIFI so I thought I'd update to Fedora 20.
Now I have my bootable USB, but its not working.

17th July 2014, 05:15 PM
To be brutally honest, you would be better clean installing Fedora 20 instead of trying to upgrade from Fedora 12.