PDA

View Full Version : KDE Plasma 5



hakova
16th July 2014, 07:57 PM
Hi all,

This may be a little premature, but is there a way to test plasma 5 in fedora 20 or 21-rawhide? If so, how?

Thanks!

Vespa
28th July 2014, 09:32 PM
There is a blog post here about installing the KDE Frameworks 5:

http://www.progdan.cz/2014/01/kde-frameworks-5-and-plasma-2-on-fedora/

Base packages are here:

https://admin.fedoraproject.org/updates/qt5-qtbase

R3v0lut10nary
29th July 2014, 03:05 AM
There is a blog post here about installing the KDE Frameworks 5:

http://www.progdan.cz/2014/01/kde-frameworks-5-and-plasma-2-on-fedora/

Base packages are here:

https://admin.fedoraproject.org/updates/qt5-qtbase

Unless you're developing QT applications, that's not going to do anything for you.

The OP is asking about Plasma 5/Next. I've tested it once, and it's not even close to ready for prime time. It also can't be co-installed with KDE4, so I would just wait a while.

Vespa
29th July 2014, 04:40 AM
Thanks for the clarification! Part of the post stated:


If you install kde5-workspace package, you can also have a sneak peek at what Plasma guys are doing for Plasma 2! Your display manager should have “KDE Plasma Workspace 2” entry in session types list, which will log you into Plasma 2 session. Just remember that Plasma 2 is still under heavy development and not yet ready for day to day use.

That pretty much mirrors what you are saying about not being ready for prime time.

R3v0lut10nary
29th July 2014, 04:50 AM
Thanks for the clarification! Part of the post stated:



That pretty much mirrors what you are saying about not being ready for prime time.

Yeah, I think at one point his links did have the packages for co-installation of Plasma 2. Then when they got to the point where they weren't co-installable with KDE 4, those packages were removed from his repo.

Now, as far as I can tell, it's just KDE 5 Frameworks.

I could tell it's going to be good.... when it's finished. Lots of quirky behavior and missing functionality right now though.

Cygn
29th July 2014, 08:55 AM
well I did install from his repo like 2 days ago and I had plasma-5 alright. Not very usable yet though, but worth a spin.

http://copr.fedoraproject.org/coprs/dvratil/plasma-5/

hakova
1st August 2014, 04:55 PM
Thanks a lot for the responses. It may be worthwhile to take a look in a virtual machine with rawhide IMHO ;).

abin1986
12th February 2015, 01:30 PM
Hi there ,i have installed KF5 packages from the official repo,but still not ale to log in to the KDE 5 desktop.
KDE 5 session is not listed in the session chooser

Vespa
12th February 2015, 04:48 PM
I just tried this on Fedora 21 out of curiosity. Installed the repo from the link above.
I was running the default spin so Gnome was installed as KDE 4 and 5 apparently can't be co-installed. The only other step I took was to enable SDDM and disable GDM

systemctl disable gdm && systemctl enable sddm

Upon reboot, I was able to choose "plasma" in the upper left of the login screen.