PDA

View Full Version : Problems to get 2460x1440 resolution on HDMI



dacucar
23rd February 2014, 10:52 AM
Hi!

I have recently adquired a 27" monitor which is capable of 2460x1440 resolution. I spent the whole day yesterday to try to make it work at this resolution but could not get more than 1920x1080. The mode is not listed in nvidia-settings or in the Gnome Screen utility.
I would appreciate if someone could share its ideas on what could be the problem.

My hardware:
- 27 inches monitor:AOC q2770pqu
- GeForce 230M, with a Max resolution of 2560x1600
- My laptop only has HDMI and VGA output
- HDMI wire - v1.4
- I use nvidia drivers and Fedora 19. Everything in my system is updated.

Before I purchached the monitor I read about people having same problem with a DELL U2711 monitor, and same graphics card. The problem seemed to have to do with the fact that U2711 does not support full resolution on HDMI. They managed to work it out by using a modified EDID file (which I have not been able to find). Anyway, this should not be the problem of my monitor as in the user manual I could find the following:

WQHD Mode(2560x1440) for Q2770PQU model DVI(dual link), Display Port only; For HDMI, the highest
supporting screen resolution is also 2560 x 1440, but it always depends on your capability of graphics card and
BluRay/video players.
I am also pretty sure that the graphic card supports the 2560x1440, because as mentioned before, people with same graphic card managed to solve their problem on DELL 2711.

I have tried many different things, including xrandr and modifications of xorg.conf in many different ways.

xrandr outputs the following:

VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
LVDS-0 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
1366x768 60.0 +
HDMI-0 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 597mm x 336mm
1920x1080 60.0*+ 59.9 50.0 60.0 50.0
1680x1050 60.0
1440x900 59.9
1280x1024 75.0 60.0
1280x960 60.0
1280x720 60.0 59.9 50.0
1024x768 75.0 70.1 60.0
800x600 75.0 72.2 60.3 56.2
720x576 50.0
720x480 59.9
640x480 75.0 72.8 59.9 59.9

The 2460x1440 mode is not present. I tried to use:

xrandr --newmode "2560x1440" 241.5 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode HDMI-0 "2560x1440"

but I get the following:

X Error of failed request: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
Major opcode of failed request: 139 (RANDR)
Minor opcode of failed request: 18 (RRAddOutputMode)
Serial number of failed request: 27
Current serial number in output stream: 28


I have searched for this problem on google but found nothing on how to work it out.

Using nvidia-settings, I was able to capture EDID file of my monitor. I parsed it using monitor-edid-parse and got:


Name: Q2770
EISA ID: AOC2770
EDID version: 1.3
EDID extension blocks: 1
Screen size: 59.7 cm x 33.6 cm (26.97 inches, aspect ratio 16/9 = 1.78)
Gamma: 2.2
Digital signal
Max video bandwidth: 270 MHz

HorizSync 30-99
VertRefresh 50-76

# Monitor preferred modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 88.8 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 108 dpi)
ModeLine "2560x1440" 241.5 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync +vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 67.5 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 81 dpi)
ModeLine "1920x1080" 148.5 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (50.0 Hz vsync, 56.2 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 81 dpi)
ModeLine "1920x1080" 148.5 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 33.8 kHz hsync, interlaced, ratio 16/9, 81 dpi)
ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1125 +hsync +vsync Interlace

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (50.0 Hz vsync, 28.1 kHz hsync, interlaced, ratio 16/9, 81 dpi)
ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1094 1125 +hsync +vsync Interlace

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 45.0 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 54 dpi)
ModeLine "1280x720" 74.25 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (50.0 Hz vsync, 37.5 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 54 dpi)
ModeLine "1280x720" 74.25 1280 1720 1760 1980 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (59.9 Hz vsync, 31.5 kHz hsync, ratio 3/2, 30x36 dpi) (bad ratio)
ModeLine "720x480" 27 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (50.0 Hz vsync, 31.2 kHz hsync, ratio 5/4, 30x43 dpi) (bad ratio)
ModeLine "720x576" 27 720 732 796 864 576 581 586 625 -hsync -vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (59.9 Hz vsync, 31.5 kHz hsync, ratio 3/2, 30x36 dpi) (bad ratio)
ModeLine "720x480" 27 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (50.0 Hz vsync, 31.2 kHz hsync, ratio 5/4, 30x43 dpi) (bad ratio)
ModeLine "720x576" 27 720 732 796 864 576 581 586 625 -hsync -vsync

# Monitor supported CEA modeline (59.9 Hz vsync, 31.5 kHz hsync, ratio 4/3, 27x36 dpi) (bad ratio)
ModeLine "640x480" 25.175 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync

# Monitor supported modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 67.5 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 81 dpi)
ModeLine "1920x1080" 148.5 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync

# Monitor supported modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 45.0 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 54 dpi)
ModeLine "1280x720" 74.25 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync

# Monitor supported modeline (59.9 Hz vsync, 31.5 kHz hsync, ratio 3/2, 30x36 dpi) (bad ratio)
ModeLine "720x480" 27 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync

# Monitor supported modeline (50.0 Hz vsync, 31.2 kHz hsync, ratio 5/4, 30x43 dpi) (bad ratio)
ModeLine "720x576" 27 720 732 796 864 576 581 586 625 -hsync -vsync

Therefore I understand that the monitor does have information on the 2560x1440. This modeline is the one I used with xrandr, but I also tried with cvt. I also tried with lower refresh rates than 60 (as with the U2711 monitor people seemed to need less than 60Hz) but I always get same error when I execute the xrandr --addmode command.

My next attempts were to modify the xorg.conf file in /etc/X11/. The configuration I am using now is splitted in two different files (/etc/X11/xorg.conf and /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-monitors.conf). I did this just for convenience but initially I was trying only with xorg.conf file.

Here there are the contents:
xorg.conf


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce GT 230M"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "Internal Panel,External HDMI Monitor"
EndSection


10-monitors.conf


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Internal Panel"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "Stereo" "0"
Option "SLI" "Off"
Option "MultiGPU" "Off"
Option "BaseMosaic" "off"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "External HDMI Monitor"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "AOCq2770pqu"
HorizSync 30.0 - 99.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
UseModes "Modes0"
ModeLine "2560x1440" 241.5 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync +vsync
Option "PreferredMode" "2560x1440"
DisplaySize 597 336
Option "UseEdidDpi" "false"
Option "DPI" "108 x 108"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
ModeLine "2560x1440" 241.5 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Internal Panel"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "AU Optronics Corporation"
HorizSync 30.0 - 75.0
VertRefresh 60.0
Option "DPMS"
# Option "Ignore" "true"
# Option "PreferredMode" "1366x768"
EndSection


As mentioned, I have tried many different ways to configure this and non of those worked, so this is just the last attempt (using the UseModes and UseEdidDpi options for the monitor).

I am happy to try new configurations if someone has something to suggest.

My next ideas were to buy a HDMI to DVI (dual-link) converter if such exists and the price is reasonible.

Thank you very much in advance,

Darío

dobbi
23rd February 2014, 11:36 AM
The specs for your card:

Maximum Digital Resolution
2560x1600

Maximum VGA Resolution
2048x1536

Standard Display Connectors:

Dual Link DVI
VGA
DisplayPort

HDMI Single Link DVI

HDMI2 = Yes
2 - Requires DVI-to-HDMI dongle and SPDIF audio cable from motherboard to graphics card.

Source: http://www.geforce.com/hardware/notebook-gpus/geforce-gt-230m/specifications

From what I read and I could be wrong, that resolution needs a lot of bandwidth, meaning you need the dual DVI connection not the single HDMI one.

Source: https://superuser.com/questions/680517/cannot-set-max-screen-resolution-of-2560x1440-with-dell-u2711-monitor

You can test this by hooking up with a dual DVI cable and see if it shows up.

The EDID looks fine, everything looks fine, so maybe just maybe is a bandwidth problem.

Ideas:

- Look into the xorg configuration to see what bus types it allows and if there is a way to configure that.
- Research to see how xorg controls the monitor device bandwidth and if it can be set somewhere.
- See if the modline can be tweaked to use less bandwidth, maybe reducing the frequency, risky though.

Update:
Looking at it I saw the Displayport thing, is that supported by Linux?
Yep it does support.
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTU3ODg (Intel DisplayPort Gets High Bit Rate 2 In Linux 3.14) for Intel at least.

Just guessing but that is probably the cable you should use to get the higher resolutions.

dacucar
23rd February 2014, 03:24 PM
Hi

First of all, thank you for your answer.


You can test this by hooking up with a dual DVI cable and see if it shows up.
Do you mean that I try a HDMI>DVI-D connector? I ask because I have to buy it in that case :)

Even though GeForce 230M supports DVI, my laptop does not have any other connection than HDMI and VGA.

Something I quite don't understand: why is the display mode not listed? (with nvidia-settings or xrandr). Even if my HDMI cable is not capable enough, should not the display mode appear somewhere?

I will try to play a little with the frequencies to see if I get something to work, but I had already made some attempts with xrandr and lower frequencies and did not work.

sea
23rd February 2014, 04:38 PM
Are you sure its on HDMI port 0?
My TV has 4 slots, they're 1-4.

Also you said:


HDMI Single Link DVI

HDMI2 = Yes
2 - Requires DVI-to-HDMI dongle and SPDIF audio cable from motherboard to graphics card.

Maybe you have better luck trying to display on HDMI2 rather than the non-existing HDMI0?

Hope this helps

PS:
Furthermore, AFAIK, full HD is 1920*1080, the next gen of HD videos would be 4k, which is not available.
Either way, what i'm trying to say is, to watch a HD movie of 1920*1080, you dont need a 2560x1600/2460x1440, which sounds/looks like a computer resolution, not a HD-TV one.

Ignore this post if you talk about computer resolution only.

dacucar
23rd February 2014, 04:47 PM
Thanks, but I am talking about computer resolution. It is a computer monitor and it supports WQHD (2560x1440).

I don 't intend to use it for watching videos, but for working, that is why getting highest resolution is important for me :)