PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] What default packages can be removed without causing problems

djs407
21st January 2014, 03:55 PM
What default applications can be removed from F20 LXDE/Cinnamon/Enlightement without tearing up the OS?

I would like (very much) to remove Chome/Chromium, Midori, Internet chat, email client, Transmission or any other Torrent, Libre Office, Osmo organizer or any other address book, Cheese (don't use webcam), and any streaming programs in Multimedia.

But as I have read here, in Enlightement thread, removing Chrome will leave gaping hole in OS. And In Mint I could see that internet chat, email client and Libre office will affect core desktop and metacodecs packages (not that I didn't tried, desktop went blank, had to do clean install).

I'm new to Fedora, and LXDE, Cinnamon and E17 desktops are in order I plan to try them.

Thanks,

BBQdave
21st January 2014, 04:29 PM
I'm new to Fedora, and LXDE, Cinnamon and E17 desktops are in order I plan to try them.

http://www.forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=285287 just below your thread :)

A good place to start - Enlightenment, and perhaps the closest you will get to achieving the built as you like system.

djs407
21st January 2014, 05:19 PM
Enlightement developers said that this is not for the people who are looking for minimalist desktop configuration, with minimum of preinstalled programs :(

Cinnamon is familiar, satisfactory in functionality, but it's overloaded with unnecessary preinstalled programs.

LXDE in other Linuxes is just what I'm looking for (at least in Ubuntu-based WattOS), only in Watt it has very old versions of packages I'm using. LXDE in Fedora has reduced administration from GUI (Users and Groups were absent in menu), had to ask here what to install to make it appear. And too much of unnecessary default programs are installed. On the good side, F20 has newest versions of the programs I use.