PDA

View Full Version : All graphics not displayed unless i hover over them



Detour
14th December 2004, 08:08 PM
Using Fedora Core 3: Freshly installed...

As the subject states, i cannot see anything that appears on the screen unless i hover across it with the mouse first. This happens with menus, apps, the toolbars, everything...

imdeemvp
14th December 2004, 08:23 PM
Can you give us your pc specs? and was your monitor, video and mouse detected previous to the installation?

Detour
14th December 2004, 08:35 PM
Dell Dimension L800r

Specs:
Pentium/800
64MB SDRAM
6MB Intel 810E graphics
9.5GB hard drive
CD-ROM
Samsung SyncMaster 171v LCD flatscreen monitor

Yes, everything was autodetected correctly...

NOTE: new problem - after rebooting my monitor now displays the message Video mode not supported (i set it to 800x600, thousands of colors)

imdeemvp
14th December 2004, 08:41 PM
6MB Intel 810E graphics
I've seen some threads reporting problems with this video card also if your system takes a long time to start it could be to your ram you need at least 256mb for fedora core 3.

Detour
14th December 2004, 08:43 PM
Thanks for the reply.. If i switch the video card will it be autodetected or will i have to reinstall Fedora?

Finalzone
14th December 2004, 08:47 PM
It will autodetect when you boot Fedora Core. No need to reinstall. :)

imdeemvp
14th December 2004, 08:49 PM
Kudzu will ask you if you want to keep old configurations say NO.

Detour
14th December 2004, 08:52 PM
I have a dimension 4100 that i can use as well. Video card is nVidia GeForce2 GTS. Are there problems with this card?? If i just take the hard drive out of the L800r and pop it into another PC will fedora freak out?

Detour
14th December 2004, 09:03 PM
Let's see... I've also got a Dimension XPS B800, looks like the best of the bunch. Video: Riva TNT2.. Works under linux??

Will fedora work if I simply swap the hard drive in???

Detour
14th December 2004, 09:32 PM
Well to anyone else who might have been in a situation like mine.. .Kudzu (Fedora's hardware config utility) handled me swapping the hard drive into another pc quite gracefully.. thanks for all the help

imdeemvp
16th December 2004, 10:41 AM
One of the things I like about Kudzu is the ability to configure your new hardware as long as it is supported.

pparks1
16th December 2004, 04:11 PM
The typical problem here is with the 810 chipsets. Look in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file for the 810 section

Add the option "noaccel" to the bottom of that section and give it a shot. Let me know if it works.



Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "i810"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "Intel 810"
Option "noaccel"
EndSection

Beatle
16th December 2004, 04:39 PM
You might check this thread as well, the instructions in the last post worked fine for me:
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=27014&highlight=810+worked