PDA

View Full Version : using Ipod classic with Amarok FC19



Shugs81
27th July 2013, 11:36 AM
Hi again peeps...

my ipod is recognized by Amarok, but I'm unalbe to copy to it... tells me I don't have permissions...

Ipod isn't showing up in dolphin either

is there any way I could mount it in fstab? will it mount it as soon as connecting it?

or is there a way of wiping it and reformatting for linux use?

---------- Post added at 11:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:32 AM ----------


Writing iTunes database to Shugs81’s iPod: Classic (Black) failed: Failed to create file '/run/libgpod/ipodeYcpbX/iPod_Control/iTunes/iTunesDB.TT440W': Permission denied

Thats the EM that pops up... if it helps

BBQdave
27th July 2013, 03:57 PM
...is there a way of wiping it and reformatting for linux use?

I use the twisted Gnome 3.4.2 that is Unity 12.04LTS - Rhythmbox with a Sansa Clip+ playing Ogg Vorbis files. I am able to sync playlists on my Sansa Clip+ with the follow info from Rhythmbox:

If Rhythmbox Music Player does not detect your device as a portable audio player, you can create an empty file named .is_audio_player at the top level hierarchy of the filesystem of your player.

Portable audio player set to MSC mode.

Rockbox (http://www.rockbox.org/) may be of interest to you aswell :)

BBQdave
27th July 2013, 04:05 PM
I believe from other posts, you have a library of mp3's...

If so, you will want the mp3 codec pack - a free download from Fluendo (http://www.fluendo.com/), which also has other software that you may be interested in :)

solo2101
27th July 2013, 06:18 PM
I use Gnome Rhythmbox, it work well...

Shugs81
27th July 2013, 07:28 PM
hmm... thx for the answers guys but looking to stick with Amarok as i like all the features it has... was just looking to work out how to run it maybe as root or something to try to gain permissions to copy onto the Ipod

---------- Post added at 07:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:27 PM ----------

plus forgot to add it's the 4th gen 120gb ipod classic which can't use the custom install on it... :(

Shugs81
29th July 2013, 09:42 PM
so no one has bothered to use amarok on fc19 with an ipod classic? everyone just used rhythmnbox?

not trying to sound like a whiney little b!t@h... it's an honest question....

BBQdave
30th July 2013, 01:23 AM
Amarok and iPod Classic (http://amarok.community.kde.org/Media_Device:IPod)

And yeah... Rhythmbox and Sansa Clip+

The best way to manage and play your tunes, just add a good pair of ear buds :D

Shugs81
1st August 2013, 10:30 PM
tried it with rockbox... didn't like it so restored back to std.... now it wont detect it.... grr...