PDA

View Full Version : Howto - Java JRE plugin on Firefox for Fedora



COKEDUDE
25th June 2013, 11:34 AM
1. Check version numbers
https://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp

2. Do a google search with the correct version numbers. Something similar to this. Replace the correct version numbers.
jre-7u25-linux-i586.rpm

3. Download the rpm. I can't give a direct link since Oracle keeps changing their links. That is why I said do a google search above.

4. Find the old jre

rpm -qa | grep -i jre

5. Erase the old jre

sudo rpm -e jre-1.7.0_17-fcs.i586

6. Install the new rpm

sudo rpm -i jre-7u21-linux-i586.rpm

7. Remove the old jre folder if there is one. Sometimes a folder is there and other times there isn't one.

sudo rm -r /usr/java/jre1.7.0_17/

8. Go to the mozilla plugins folder

cd /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

9. Remove the old symlink

sudo rm libnpjp2.so

10. Create a new symlink. Make sure you replace the version number with the correct number.

sudo ln -s /usr/java/jre1.7.0_21/lib/i386/libnpjp2.so


If you want to create a shellscript this should work. The Oracle links change so much it doesn't seem practical anymore.
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=1511224&postcount=12

COKEDUDE
16th October 2013, 03:30 AM
I just discovered if you have an old version of the Java Development Kit (jdk) you will not be able to install the new JRE. So you will have to remove it before you can install the new version of the JRE.


$ sudo rpm -i /home/bob/Downloads/jre-7u45-linux-i586.rpm
[sudo] password for bob:
file /etc/init.d/jexec from install of jre-1.7.0_45-fcs.i586 conflicts with file from package jdk-2000:1.7.0_25-fcs.i586

$ sudo rpm -e jdk-1.7.0_25-fcs.i586


And success :).


$ sudo rpm -i /home/bob/Downloads/jre-7u45-linux-i586.rpm
Unpacking JAR files...
rt.jar...
jsse.jar...
charsets.jar...
localedata.jar...
jfxrt.jar...
plugin.jar...
javaws.jar...
deploy.jar...

leigh123linux
16th October 2013, 07:05 AM
Here's a better way to do it

http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f19.html#java

marko
1st November 2013, 03:55 AM
I just noticed why my java plugin was coming up [INVALID] in my Firefox pluginreg.dat and not being found in firefox.

I needed to go in $JAVA_HOME/bin/jcontrol and activate the plugin in the security tab, it was off for some reason. I have been updating through versions 25->40->45 (latest) and I think the jcontrol app might be coming preset to 'off' for the plugin ?

hadrons123
1st November 2013, 06:26 AM
I have icedtea-web installed and it puts all the libs in place for firefox and it gets updated on time too.