PDA

View Full Version : Can I change from Gnome to KDE?



DaveFedora
22nd March 2013, 05:33 PM
Hello,

I have Fedora 18 running with Gnome 3.6.2 as my desktop. Is it possible to install KDE and set that as my default?

And how much effort will be involved?

V/R
Dave

lookout
22nd March 2013, 06:14 PM
man i didnt like gnome at first,but now i prefere it keeps crap outta the way...sorry couldnt help but im sure you can change them.

zerum
22nd March 2013, 07:01 PM
yum groupinstall "KDE Software Compilation"

To make KDM the default display manager install the package system-switch-displaymanager and run it.

DBelton
22nd March 2013, 07:17 PM
I'm not certain that the system-switch-display-manager package has been updated to the F18 way of changing desktop managers or not. I haven't tried it.

But if it doesn't work, you change the display manager using systemd



systemctl enable --force kdm.service

zerum
22nd March 2013, 07:56 PM
I'm not certain that the system-switch-display-manager package has been updated to the F18 way of changing desktop managers or not. I haven't tried it.

It works for F18.

Gareth Jones
22nd March 2013, 09:37 PM
Be careful though – if you try to uninstall GNOME, or even regret KDE and try to remove that, you’ll be in for a world of grief. This is unfortunate, because not only will you have duplicate GNOME/KDE applications (terminal, calculator etc.), which aren’t easy to tell apart in the menus, but also some common subsystems (e.g. Telepathy) seem to get confused if both are installed.

beaker_
23rd March 2013, 12:46 AM
Ah I wouldn't worry about it. I install both gnome and kde. Adding lighterweight DEs become the pain as Gareth pointed out.

DaveFedora
23rd March 2013, 06:01 PM
Thanks everyone, I will consider all advice before I make the move. I might just go for it:)
Dave

DaveFedora
24th March 2013, 04:27 PM
OKAY,

I decided to try it and got the following:

[root@DENVER dave]# yum groupinstall "KDE Software Compilation"
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Warning: Group KDE Software Compilation does not exist.
No packages in any requested group available to install or update


Maybe that's a sign I should stay with Gnome?

My motivation is to use digikam. Digikam is not working out on Gnome so far.

Dave

ashtonford
24th March 2013, 04:34 PM
OKAY,

I decided to try it and got the following:

[root@DENVER dave]# yum groupinstall "KDE Software Compilation"
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Warning: Group KDE Software Compilation does not exist.
No packages in any requested group available to install or update


Maybe that's a sign I should stay with Gnome?

My motivation is to use digikam. Digikam is not working out on Gnome so far.

Dave

try cinnamon its a much better than going with a buggy kde

joncr
24th March 2013, 04:38 PM
Isn't it "kde-desktop"?

Be aware that uninstalling something like KDE isn't as easy as installing it, if that's an issue for you.

bob
24th March 2013, 04:46 PM
One simple solution would be to install yumex ("yum install yumex") which is the gui version of yum. Then, click on Groups, select KDE Desktop.

Gareth Jones
24th March 2013, 06:07 PM
My motivation is to use digikam. Digikam is not working out on Gnome so far.

Have you got Digikam installed? It should work regardless of what desktop shell youíre using. If youíre getting errors from Digikam, itís worth starting a separate thread for them.

Installing KDE might help, but Cinnamon etc. will be no different from GNOME as far as Digikam is concerned.

beaker_
24th March 2013, 08:18 PM
$ yum grouplist |grep KDE
KDE Plasma Workspaces

$ yum groupinfo "KDE Plasma Workspaces"
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit

Environment Group: KDE Plasma Workspaces
Environment-Id: kde-desktop-environment
Description: The KDE Plasma Workspaces, a highly-configurable graphical user interface which includes a panel, desktop, system icons and desktop widgets, and many powerful KDE applications.
Mandatory Groups:
base-x
core
dial-up
fonts
hardware-support
input-methods
kde-desktop
multimedia
printing
standard
Optional Groups:
kde-apps
kde-education
kde-media
kde-office
kde-telepathy

Group: KDE Plasma Workspaces
Group-Id: kde-desktop
Description: The KDE Plasma Workspaces, a highly-configurable graphical user interface which includes a panel, desktop, system icons and desktop widgets, and many powerful KDE applications.
Mandatory Packages:
abrt-desktop
akonadi
akonadi-mysql
apper
ark
bluedevil
cagibi
cups-pk-helper
firewall-config
firstboot
gwenview
kamera
kamoso
kcalc
kcharselect
kcm-gtk
kcm_touchpad
kcolorchooser
kde-baseapps
kde-plasma-networkmanagement
kde-plasma-networkmanagement-openconnect
kde-plasma-networkmanagement-openvpn
kde-plasma-networkmanagement-pptp
kde-plasma-networkmanagement-vpnc
kde-print-manager
kde-runtime
kde-settings-pulseaudio
kde-workspace
kdeaccessibility
kdegames-minimal
kdegraphics-strigi-analyzer
kdegraphics-thumbnailers
kdelibs
kdenetwork-kdnssd
kdenetwork-kget
kdepim
kdeplasma-addons
kdm
kgpg
kipi-plugins
kmix
konsole
kruler
ksnapshot
ksshaskpass
ksysguard
kwallet
kwebkitpart
kwrite
okular
oxygen-gtk
phonon-backend-gstreamer
plasma-scriptengine-python
setroubleshoot
system-config-date
system-config-services
xsettings-kde
xterm
Default Packages:
k3b-extras-freeworld
xine-lib-extras-freeworld
Optional Packages:
k9copy
kmediafactory
kplayer
Conditional Packages:
gstreamer-ffmpeg
gstreamer-plugins-ugly
gstreamer1-libav
gstreamer1-plugins-bad-freeworld
gstreamer1-plugins-ugly
libreoffice-kde
libtunepimp-extras-freeworld
pinentry-qt
$


Looks to me like you wnat group "KDE Plasma Workspaces," and digikam.



su
yum groupinstall "KDE Plasma Workspaces"
yum install digikam

bfsmith9
24th March 2013, 08:18 PM
Gareth is right - you should be able to just run digikam. If you don't have it installed yet you can do that as people are suggesting - the installer will pull in only the KDE software needed to run it, rather than the whole desktop environment.

If you really want it, I think the KDE Desktop is now installed with "yum groupinstall "KDE Plasma Workspaces". Looks like the name keeps changing. You can see the different groups with "yum grouplist":

$ yum grouplist
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Available Environment Groups:
GNOME Desktop
[B]KDE Plasma Workspaces
Xfce Desktop
LXDE Desktop
Cinnamon Desktop
MATE Desktop
Sugar Desktop Environment
Development and Creative Workstation
Web Server
Infrastructure Server
Basic X Window System
Minimal Install
Installed Groups:
Administration Tools
Authoring and Publishing
Cloud Infrastructure
Design Suite
...

DaveFedora
24th March 2013, 09:17 PM
Thanks everyone. I'm not sure what direction to go in. Right now I am installing Fedora 18 KDE in Boxes.

To tell the truth, I haven't been so satisified with Fedora 18 since the upgrade. I did a fresh install, but have not recovered all of my functionality from Fedora 16.

Linux has been my mainstay since about 2004. I switched from Mandriva to Fedora about a year ago.

I'll have to think it over and decide what to do.

Thanks again.

Dave

joncr
24th March 2013, 10:12 PM
If it's KDE you're after, along with Fedora, you might consider a clean install from the DVD or the netinstall. That way, you can opt for KDE as the desktop at install time, rather than adding it to a Gnome system.