PDA

View Full Version : F17 Graphical performance



andrea.delbravo
28th January 2013, 12:11 PM
Hello,
I developed a Multi-window Graphical application under FC14 64 bit, which comprise Tactical Situation Displays, aeronautical instruments, raster maps, sensor panels etc, and it worked fine. Now I've installed FC17 16 bit, but the performance of the application degraded considerably.
My workstation is HP Z800 dua processor quadcore, with 16 GB Ram
NVIDIA quadro 5800 FX
I've also updated the NVIDIA drivers.
I can make a direct comparison because I've both operating systems (FC 17 and FC 17), with the application resident on a third disk. and when i boot with a different OS (FC14 o 17) I recompile the application.
Anybody had the same experience?
In reality I don't know where to correct the code, because it works fine on FC14............

mschwendt
28th January 2013, 02:15 PM
Which desktop environment do you refer to? GNOME? Then be aware of the requirements/features of the new GNOME Shell. KDE? Have you tried running your application in a much more slim desktop environment or window manager?

andrea.delbravo
28th January 2013, 02:24 PM
Le desktop env is Gnome 3 and I installed the cinnamon on top of it. Do you mean that this could be the reason? in case, which desktop env do you suggest?

jpollard
28th January 2013, 03:50 PM
Almost anything not gnome based... Xfce should do.

andrea.delbravo
28th January 2013, 04:04 PM
Assuming I switch to Xfce, what to do? just installing it with yum? and what about Gnome? Do I have do uninstall it? or I find the several option (Gnome, Cinnamon, Xfce .....) in the login window?
I tried to install KDE with yum, but now I don't how to swith to it.

jpollard
28th January 2013, 04:33 PM
One of the current problems with Fedora is that the dependencies in the packages of gnome spread tentacles into many parts of the system - removing gnome also tends to remove the system...

If KDE is installed, you should be able to select it at login - before finishing the password. There is a little "session" button present (and yes, it doesn't look like a button either) that when selected will provide a list of available sessions.

andrea.delbravo
28th January 2013, 04:53 PM
Well, I installed both KDE and Xfce (or at least I presume to have), but in the login window I see only Cinnamon, Cinnamon 2D, Gnome.......no other menu items. Any settings to do somewhere?

mschwendt
28th January 2013, 04:57 PM
How did you installed it? Probably you've missed the xfce4-session package.

andrea.delbravo
28th January 2013, 06:17 PM
Sorry...I installed the package xfdesktop.x86_64 with all the dependencies and I supposed it was sufficient.
Now I've installed also xfce4-session with all the dependencies, but still in the login menu, there are only three items, Cinnamon, Cinnamon 2D and Gnome.

---------- Post added at 05:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:07 PM ----------

Do I heve to reboot the system? I don't think so.......

---------- Post added at 05:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:08 PM ----------

I run the application both under Cinnamon and under Gnome. The impression is that under Gnome there is the worse performance............

---------- Post added at 06:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:55 PM ----------

Ok...I managed to use Xfce....but the performance are similar to Cinnamon....that means very much lower than under FC14.
At this point I don't know how to progress........

Ihatewindows
28th January 2013, 06:32 PM
Almost anything not gnome based... Xfce should do.
XFCE I believe is Gnome based.

mschwendt
28th January 2013, 06:52 PM
XFCE I believe is Gnome based.
GTK+ and GLib are not equal to GNOME. And with the difference between GNOME 2 and GNOME 3 one cannot refer to just "GNOME" anyway.


Ok...I managed to use Xfce....but the performance are similar to Cinnamon....that means very much lower than under FC14.

So, one goal of the exercise was to test whether a less-demanding desktop would also show the same symptoms. Now you can rule out that the decrease in performance is related to the desktop. Obviously, it would have been even better to use the same desktop as with F14, e.g. a very simple window manager like Openbox.


At this point I don't know how to progress........
That's a lot of characters for the single period at the end of a sentence. :D

What progress do you hope for? Do you use the same proprietary Nvidia driver as with F14? Certainly not the same kernel. Can you use the Noveau driver instead? Is the problem reproducible with F18?

jpollard
28th January 2013, 07:43 PM
XFCE I believe is Gnome based.

gtk based. Same base libraries, but not as much bloat.

andrea.delbravo
28th January 2013, 11:42 PM
I know that applying an exhaustive scientific approach is the best way, but not always it is possible. Anyway I think I reached some results. I installed FC17 on a lattop HP (Elitebook 6930p), on an external USB diisk, and booting directly from the USB disk. Same application, same environment (a part the 32 bit version of the OS). Well, the application run very much faster on a laptot than on a 8 core workstation with 16 GB memory and a Grapphic Card Quadro FX 5800 with 4 GB of memory. So, the desktop environment can be excluded. I suspect that the problem is the Graphic Card driver. For some reason it doesn't perform well. It is the last from the NVIDIA site. How to progress.......1) tryining another driver....2) .expecting new version of the OS (FC19?) to see if the problem will be solved.
Any further suggestion?

Ihatewindows
29th January 2013, 12:05 AM
I've had just as much if not more so trouble with Nvidia than you have. Unless Nvidia makes their driver better (almost no chance whatsoever) than people like you and me are stuck with a crappy driver. And remember to thank Nvidia for all this! :mad:

andrea.delbravo
30th January 2013, 05:31 PM
Well.....I don't want to defend NVIDIA...I've a big experience in the development and integration of SW based complex systems (I led some very big military flight simulator program), made by many different supplier. When the several pieces were integrated it was normal that almost nothing worked!!!! and it was quite normal that everybody blamed the pieces of the others, and that peace of system surely worked fine!!!! Here it seems to me that problem is less complex: there is an OS almost new, and another SW to be integrated, the NVIDIA driver. What I can say is that the NVIDIA driver worked very well with FC14.....I presume that the FC17 developers (kernel) didn't take into account something that they did take into account developing FC14. But I'm not really a specialist of that kind of SW..................

BBQdave
30th January 2013, 05:44 PM
XFCE I believe is Gnome based.

Xfce in and of itself is not Gnome based. But many spins: Fedora Xfce, Xubuntu, Linux Mint Xfce, are blends of Xfce and Gnome :)