PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Core 2 Up2date



Condatis
3rd December 2004, 10:38 PM
All -

I installed Fedora Core 2, and tried to run up2date as I have done on past installations at home. I installed FC2 at work, set up all the proxies and all seems to be working. When I launch up2date, I am asked to register, so I put in my subscription account information for enterprise releases of the OS. What I then see is something akin to registering a RHEL version of the OS. When the registration completes it says:

System Registered but Inactive

Invalid Architecture and OS release combination (2, i686-red-hat-linux).
Your system has been registered but will not receive updates
because it is not subscribed to a channel. If you have not yet
activated your product for service, please visit our website at:


http://www.redhat.com/now

...to activate your product.

If I go into my RHN account, I can not allocate a channel and it says it's disabled.

I think when I tried to engage up2date I should not have entered my registration information for other versions of Red Hat? Now the pay version of up2date is confused? Do I need to delete some configuration files and start over?

tchung
3rd December 2004, 10:49 PM
Hello,

Please check /etc/sysconfig/rhn/sources

It should have:

#up2date default

and

yum fedora-core-2 http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/2/$ARCH/os/
yum updates-released-fc2 http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/updates/2/$ARCH/

yum-mirror fedora-core-2 http://fedora.redhat.com/download/up2date-mirrors/fedora-core-2
yum-mirror updates-released-fc2 http://fedora.redhat.com/download/up2date-mirrors/updates-released-fc2


Thomas

ps. Fedora Project is not supported by Red Hat via RHN

Condatis
3rd December 2004, 11:31 PM
ps. Fedora Project is not supported by Red Hat via RHN

I'll check into the other information above.

I think when I entered my subscription information it caused an issue with RHN and thought it was a non-Fedora OS.

Condatis
3rd December 2004, 11:40 PM
Hello -

I checked /etc/sysconfig/rhn/sources file and the entries you specified are exactly defined as you described above.

Would I need to remove some local files that is somehow making Fedora point to the subscription RHN account?

tchung
3rd December 2004, 11:45 PM
I'm not sure if this will help but try:

up2date --configure and remove "Use Authentication"

BTW, I would recommend to use "yum" instead of "up2date"

Thomas

tchung
4th December 2004, 12:06 AM
I'm not sure if this will help but try:

up2date --configure and remove "Use Authentication"


No, that's not it. Try removing "systemid" (if exist) from
/etc/sysconfig/rhn

Thomas

Condatis
4th December 2004, 03:33 AM
Thanks. I'll try what you suggest. If it doesn't work, I'll switch to "yum"

Thanks for your time on this issue.

Regards

Condatis
4th December 2004, 03:39 AM
As a note, I remove the systemid file, but it still seems to think I need an entitlement after asking for my username and password. What if I didn't have an enterprise level account?

Condatis
4th December 2004, 08:03 PM
Thomas -

Do you have a good YUM HOWTO for Fedora?

Condatis
4th December 2004, 08:04 PM
Thomas -

Do you have a good YUM HOWTO for Fedora? I especially would like to find something on how to set up YUM to get access via a password protected firewall.

Regards

tchung
4th December 2004, 10:43 PM
I have several howtos for yum at http://fedoranews.org

Use "FN Site Search" to locate them.

Thomas

soulestream
4th December 2004, 10:47 PM
how about apt-get works great on FC2 and you can add synaptic for a pretty little gui


soule

Condatis
5th December 2004, 04:30 AM
how about apt-get works great on FC2 and you can add synaptic for a pretty little gui


soule

I installed them both, but my stinking firewall is stopping me, since I have to authenticate against it. So, I guess I'll tinker with YUM and APT to see which one I get to work first through the firewall. Having problems passing a username and password to the proxy.

I am pretty disappointed with up2date since I've used that for years and never saw it get "confused" like this.

tchung
5th December 2004, 07:13 AM
Here is some information on "yum proxy setup"

http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-list/2004-February/msg04525.html

Thomas