PDA

View Full Version : New to Fedora...

wfernley
2nd December 2004, 03:26 PM
Hey everyone. Well this is my first post here and I think I'm going to like this forum.

Well basically I guess I could start with what we are getting into here. I work for a company as their web developer and we are going to be getting into inhouse hosting. Well its not really going to be inhouse, more of having our server at a friends location who has dual burst T1's and generator backups and stuff. We don't have that and I doubt we will for a while. But what I'm getting at is I need to build a web server. So I narrowed it down to Fedora 3.

Now I am a Windows guy (please keep reading... :) and I really have fooled around with Linux. But I have been wanting to get into it for a while. So I am very new at Linux and I have probably fooled around with Linux for about 30 minutes total and that wasn't even in the shell, but in the GUI. I think it was Redhat 9.

What I am curious about is setting up this web server. I have heard from a few people that with Fedora you really have to set it up right from the beginning or you will get into trouble. So I was curious if anyone knows any good walkthroughs or tutorials on setting up Fedora 3 to act like a web server. Also if anyone has any advice on special things to do on installation or configuration that will help too that would be great :)

I was also curious about setting up the server to run email. The server itself will run about 3 or 4 sites that right now get about 200 unique visits a day but those numbers are steadily climbing. Would it be able to run email, and act as a web server ok?

I heard that PHP and MySQL can be included in the installation. Is that true?

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Wes

Dog-One
2nd December 2004, 05:12 PM
Welcome aboard!

My advice is to have a test machine to learn with. Document what you do to make it work how you want, then roll this knowledge over to your production machine.