PDA

View Full Version : Best way to install xwin through ssh?

powerskier
30th November 2004, 12:07 AM
Hello,

I've been using a FC2 system for a couple months administering the system through SSH (located in a different town). I did not originally install xwin on the system because it was only used for a temp webserver etc. The program that I need to use 'vec2web' needs to be able to connect to the X Server.

I've tried 'yum install xorg-x11' but it didn't seem to install all the required files.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks! :)

pigpen
30th November 2004, 06:17 PM
hi! why not use ssh's x forwarding? or are you using the same box as your desktop machine now?

powerskier
30th November 2004, 07:15 PM
Thanks for the reply,

My problem is that I don't have X installed on the box at all. I already have FC2 installed and am trying to figure out how to install X through SSH since I can't get to the box location.

Any suggestions ? :)

ilja
30th November 2004, 08:27 PM
yum groupinstall xorg-x11

try this.

pigpen
30th November 2004, 08:35 PM
You don't need to have an X server installed on the box to run X applications. X is network transparent.
Any linux box with X server or Windows box with e.g. Cygwin's X server will do. Just use ssh's X forwarding. Or does you app need X headers to compile?
@ilja: Do groupinstalls work in FC2?

ilja
30th November 2004, 08:36 PM
I never tried it in Fc3, but in Fc2 it worked fine for me.

pigpen
30th November 2004, 08:45 PM
Ok, then I've probably messed up my yum.conf ;)

ilja
30th November 2004, 08:46 PM
Ok, then I've probably messed up my yum.conf ;)
Not every repository provides the files needed for groupinstall. AFAIR the one in Karl-Marx-Stadt ;) does.

pigpen
30th November 2004, 09:30 PM
I see... I think I use the Esslingen mirror (Can't think of a funny name for Esslingen, though ;-)

powerskier
30th November 2004, 09:35 PM