PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Insuficient disk space to install a program



Eloi D
10th July 2012, 01:21 AM
Hi All,

I am trying to install Diablo 3 for my son on Fedora since is Ubuntu install was screwed. Everything run smoothly but I get "insufficient space" warning from the Diablo install when I try to install it with play on linux. The program ask for 15GB wich I though I got.

Could you tell me what happen from the partition information bellow? Thank you!


[root@diablo Downloads]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 60.0 GB, 60022480896 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7297 cylinders, total 117231408 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000b12f6

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 2048 1026047 512000 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 1026048 117229567 58101760 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/mapper/vg_diablo-lv_swap: 10.5 GB, 10502537216 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1276 cylinders, total 20512768 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes


Disk /dev/mapper/vg_diablo-lv_root: 32.7 GB, 32682016768 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3973 cylinders, total 63832064 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes


Disk /dev/mapper/vg_diablo-lv_home: 16.3 GB, 16307453952 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1982 cylinders, total 31850496 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

[root@diablo Downloads]# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs 31G 4.4G 26G 15% /
devtmpfs 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /dev
tmpfs 3.9G 1.6M 3.9G 1% /dev/shm
tmpfs 3.9G 1.6M 3.9G 1% /run
/dev/mapper/vg_diablo-lv_root 31G 4.4G 26G 15% /
tmpfs 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /media
/dev/sda1 497M 124M 348M 27% /boot
/dev/mapper/vg_diablo-lv_home 16G 8.8G 5.6G 62% /home
/dev/sr0 645M 645M 0 100% /run/media/duguay/Fedora-17-x86_64-Live-Desktop.is

PabloTwo
10th July 2012, 01:36 AM
I presume the program is installing into the /home partition.

/dev/mapper/vg_diablo-lv_home 16G 8.8G 5.6G 62% /home
/home has 16GB total, with 8.8GB (62%) already used and only 5.6GB left.

Eloi D
10th July 2012, 02:38 AM
Indeed Pablo, now I look at the playonlinux virtual drive property there and it got 6gb left, but the rootfs partition say it got 26gb!

Is it possible to increase the home size? I need to transfer 10gb to the home...

---------- Post added at 01:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:12 AM ----------

I try to reset the partition. I installed and run gparted. Anyone know how to do the work from that application?

I think I have to rather use lvmgui, is there anyway to find the instruction on how to do this without using the Fedora installation wizard?

PabloTwo
10th July 2012, 02:39 AM
It may be possible, but without a keen knowledge of working with Logical Volume Management at the command line, not practical from a casual users point of view. It would be easier to do a complete re-install of Fedora, but this time using a custom partitioning scheme instead of the Fedora "defaults", if that's what you did. And while you're doing that, if you should care to pursue that route, I would recommend not using LVM and just create standard Linux partitions, and giving more space for /home.

The other alternative, though I don't particularly endorse doing so, would be to switch to full root and install to roots home directory, which is /root and currently has 26GB unused space. That would also mean having to run the game as root, far from an ideal solution as it presents possible security risks and a higher likelihood of damage to the operating system which is on the same partiton.

Eloi D
10th July 2012, 02:18 PM
It seem like a solution to extend the Home size would be to add a Hard Drive and use fdisk and lvm to do the work. I heard I can have the partition on several disk using lvm.

Could you post your commands? I would like to make sure what is proper.:C

PabloTwo
10th July 2012, 03:04 PM
Adding a second hdd and creating a logical_volume on it and then adding that new lv to your existing /home lv would work. That's the good part about using LVM in the first place. No, I can't post any commands how you would do that, as I never learned to do such things, even back when I was using LVM. You would either need to get some guidance here on the forum from someone who could help you with that, or start learning yourself from online tutorials and reading the man pages for the various LVM command line tools.

BASH:~/-> rpm -ql lvm2 | grep bin/
/sbin/fsadm
/sbin/lvchange
/sbin/lvconvert
/sbin/lvcreate
/sbin/lvdisplay
/sbin/lvextend
/sbin/lvm
/sbin/lvmchange
/sbin/lvmconf
/sbin/lvmdiskscan
/sbin/lvmdump
/sbin/lvmsadc
/sbin/lvmsar
/sbin/lvreduce
/sbin/lvremove
/sbin/lvrename
/sbin/lvresize
/sbin/lvs
/sbin/lvscan
/sbin/pvchange
/sbin/pvck
/sbin/pvcreate
/sbin/pvdisplay
/sbin/pvmove
/sbin/pvremove
/sbin/pvresize
/sbin/pvs
/sbin/pvscan
/sbin/vgcfgbackup
/sbin/vgcfgrestore
/sbin/vgchange
/sbin/vgck
/sbin/vgconvert
/sbin/vgcreate
/sbin/vgdisplay
/sbin/vgexport
/sbin/vgextend
/sbin/vgimport
/sbin/vgimportclone
/sbin/vgmerge
/sbin/vgmknodes
/sbin/vgreduce
/sbin/vgremove
/sbin/vgrename
/sbin/vgs
/sbin/vgscan
/sbin/vgsplit
There should be "man" pages for most or all of these commands. I don't even know what graphical LVM tools there are available, and what their capabilities are if they do exist.

Eloi D
10th July 2012, 04:24 PM
How can we get the the LVM GUI? I can use Gparted instead of fdisk and LVM GUI instead of LVM but what is the yum command to install LVM GUI?

PabloTwo
10th July 2012, 04:26 PM
yum install system-config-lvm

BASH:~/-> yum info system-config-lvm
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto
Available Packages
Name : system-config-lvm
Arch : noarch
Version : 1.1.17
Release : 1.fc16
Size : 461 k
Repo : updates
Summary : A utility for graphically configuring Logical Volumes
URL : http://www.redhat.com/
License : GPLv2
Description : system-config-lvm is a utility for graphically configuring Logical Volumes

jlpierce
10th July 2012, 05:51 PM
The system-config-lvm is a great tool, will enable you to resize logical volumes and many other things. The only caveat I am aware of has to do with mounted volumes. It will be necessary to unmount a volume before you can work on it, if you are trying to unmount the / volume that would present problems. Because you would be unmounting the partition or volume that you are working from.

Eloi D
10th July 2012, 10:23 PM
It look like we have to run the following command afterward, I just wanted to know what you think...

7.4. Resizing an Ext4 File System
Before growing an ext4 file system, ensure that the underlying block device is of an appropriate size to hold the file system later. Use the appropriate resizing methods for the affected block device.
An ext4 file system may be grown while mounted using the resize2fs command, as in:
resize2fs /mount/point size
The resize2fs command can also decrease the size of an unmounted ext4 file system, as in:
resize2fs /dev/device size
When resizing an ext4 file system, the resize2fs utility reads the size in units of file system block size, unless a suffix indicating a specific unit is used. The following suffixes indicate specific units:
s 512kb sectors
K kilobytes
M megabytes
G gigabytes
For more information about resizing an ext4 file system, refer to man resize2fs.

markkuk
10th July 2012, 10:47 PM
Yes, you must run resize2fs before shrinking and after growing logical volumes.

jlpierce
11th July 2012, 03:39 AM
Yes, you must run resize2fs before shrinking and after growing logical volumes.

I agree with having to resize the file system on the volume once it has changed size. However, remember that you will have to unmount the volume before you can resize it.

Think of it this way:

Logical Volume in LVM = Primary Partition or Logical Partition in an Extended Partition.

That volume is like a file cabinet with 4 drawers, if you add more or take away drawers then you will have to change the way the file hangers are placed inside of it.

Best analogy I could come up with right now.

Eloi D
11th July 2012, 04:34 PM
Hi All,
THE GUI DOES IT ALL!!!
I did resize the Home with an extra HDD and I just needed to use Gparted and LVM gui, no reboot required. The change are instant. Very efficient.

I think we are all set!

jlpierce
11th July 2012, 11:23 PM
Great, glad to hear that it all worked out for you.

I know I am not a moderator or anything, but under the thread tools would you mind marking the thread "Solved." Helps me keep from coming back to it, thanks.