PDA

View Full Version : shell script IF statement

rikuume
28th November 2004, 03:58 AM
was wondering if someone could help me out real quick
I am trying to figure out why expansion isnt working in the way that I am trying to use it. I am running bash under FC2.

I am trying to make this work
if [ "$word" = *[aA]* ]
then
count=$(($count+1))
fi

I have also tried
if [ "$word" = "*[aA]*" ]
then
count=$(($count+1))
fi

If I use a complete value with no expansion such as [ "$word" = "hello" ] then it will work, but the expansion I try will not. Im pretty new at this. Any help or kick in the right direction would be great.

Thanks for the time and help! :D

macemoneta
28th November 2004, 04:21 AM
I think this (http://www.tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/) would be useful (see the section 7, Tests). For your particular application:

if echo "$word" | grep -q "[aA]"

crackers
28th November 2004, 04:35 AM
test can't do regular expressions, which is why the first two failed. macemoneta has the gist correct, but that particular expression does not work in bash. Here's a way that it does work:

echo $WORD | grep -q [aA]
if [ $? -eq 0 ] ;then
echo success
fi

This checks the results of the last command run ($?), which in this case is grep. Note how the selection is denoted (both in macemoneta's post and here) - the brackets denote "match one or more of what's in here".

macemoneta
28th November 2004, 04:56 AM
Crackers: I verified proper execution of the construct in bash before posting. All you need is:

if echo "$word" | grep -q "[aA]"
then
echo "yes"
else
echo "no"
fi

The Advanced Bash Scripting Guide is really very useful. ;-)

crackers
28th November 2004, 06:11 AM
Huh! Guess I need to get more up2date (yuk, yuk, yuk) on my bash scripting.

If you want to get even sillier, you can write the above in one line:

echo "fubar" | grep -q [aA] && echo "yes" || echo "no"