PDA

View Full Version : Possible file system errors

pastim
14th March 2012, 09:26 AM
I have a new fedora 16 installation, courtesy of Vortexbox. I am fairly new to linux in general and fedora in particular.

In researching an issue I had I ran"fsck -n" to check the (mounted) file system. It reported the log below. I have already forced fsck to run at boot time, but still get a similar report from "fsck -n".

Is this anything to worry about?

fsck -n
fsck from util-linux 2.20.1
e2fsck 1.41.14 (22-Dec-2010)
Warning! /dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root is mounted.
Warning: skipping journal recovery because doing a read-only filesystem check.
/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root contains a file system with errors, check forced.
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information
Free blocks count wrong (4339028, counted=4338978).
Fix? no

Free inodes count wrong (1202357, counted=1202352).
Fix? no

/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root: ********** WARNING: Filesystem still has errors **

/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root: 78763/1281120 files (0.2% non-contiguous), 780972/
5120000 blocks
[vortexbox.localdomain ~]#

I tried to find out what fsck had done at boot time but when I found 'boot.log' it only reported on the last few %, so I don't know what happened.

DBelton
14th March 2012, 10:22 AM
run

e2fsck -p

You will have to boot from a livecd or DVD and make certain your filesystem is not mounted. You do need to fix those errors.

It is possible that those errors are only due to running it on a mounted filesystem, but I would run a full check on it unmounted just to make certain.

jpollard
14th March 2012, 12:33 PM
It is almost certainly due to being mounted.