PDA

View Full Version : What has happened??

snaranda
12th March 2012, 04:45 AM
Well, I installed Fedora this morning. I have been all the day reading and learning (It's my first time with linux). I fixed many problems that fedora gave me. It was very hard for me. I installed many things like spotify, wine, extensions in firefox, I syncronised firefox with my other PC. Everything was fine, but half an hour ago, I was trying Amarok, I minimized and EVERYTHING has dissapeared: no icons in the desktop, the wallpaper turned blue (I had a photo of Paris), no extensions in firefox, nothing. All my day's work was destroyed in one second. I am very sad. In fact, I am about to suffer an anxiety attack.
Anyone knows what has happened?

Sorry for my english, thanks a lot.

Magickman
12th March 2012, 04:55 AM
Hard to say what happened here. Did you do any updates? Try reinstalling, and good luck to you.

snaranda
12th March 2012, 05:02 AM
I've been doing updates all the day, and everything worked fine. In the moment of the disappearing I wasn't doing anything except trying Amarok. Obviusly, I'm not going to reinstall because if this has happened one time, it can happen twice. I don't want to lose all my hard work one more time. All that I want is turn back and recover all the things that I've been doing all the day.

Dan
12th March 2012, 05:11 AM
Try pressing ctrl+alt+bckspace and logging in again. It may even be advisable to reboot. Once in a while Gnome 3/Gnome shell takes an odd notion to crash, but logging off or even rebooting clears things right up.

snaranda
12th March 2012, 05:20 AM
I tried that. It not works, nor restart.

---------- Post added at 05:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:16 AM ----------

I mean, the first I tried was relog and restart the computer, but nothing reappeared. It seems like everything has started again.

Dan
12th March 2012, 05:33 AM