PDA

View Full Version : display manager not loading in fedora 16

linuxlearner28
4th March 2012, 01:38 AM
hello all ... i have been using fedora 16 for some time now and never had a problem until 2day............ i did an update 2day a couple hours ago ( truth be told i dont really know what all was in it as i was working on some other stuff along side) and later i went to reboot my computer... while it was booting up and that splash image was loading all of a sudden it just stopped so i hit the escape key to look at the info ( i am not an expert trouble shooter but i thought i would take a look) i noticed that it sed the display manager failed to start and that i should see the 'systemctl status prefdm.service' for details i really dont know what happened or what i should do ..i am sure it had something to do with that update and i have been looking online for answers for a while and have found some things SIMILAR to my situation but not exactly like it, plus all those posts are 5-6 years old if anyone could help me with this problem and the steps i would need to take i would appreciate it, i would really not prefer to have to reinstall the entire OS over a problem like this as i am sure this problem can be fixed

thank you

matt

---------- Post added at 06:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:58 PM ----------

ok i have been working on this for a while now and so here is MORE of what i have done to find out whats wrong

i booted up into recovery mode and mounted the image at the /mnt/sysimage

then issued the command "'systemctl status prefdm.service" and this is what i got

"prefdm.service- Display Manager
Loaded: (/lib/systemd/system/prefdm.service; static)
Active: inactive (dead)
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/prefdm.service"