PDA

View Full Version : Experimental Beefy Miracle is served (Fedora 17 Alpha released)



AdamW
29th February 2012, 06:22 AM
It's smoky, delicious and there's only a relatively small chance it'll explode in your digestive tract - Fedora 17 Alpha is now available!

You can read the full pun-laden announcement here (https://lists.fedoraproject.org/pipermail/announce/2012-February/003044.html), with lots of details on what's included. Or you can skip all that boring reading and just go ahead and download it (http://fedoraproject.org/get-prerelease). But please, please read the Common Bugs page (https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Common_F17_bugs) - there's some pretty juicy bugs in Alpha that you'll want to know about in advance.

Also, please remember the purpose of pre-releases is to help us ensure the final release is solid - so don't be surprised if you encounter problems, and when you do, please report them! In most cases the ideal way to report your problem is to report a bug (https://bugzilla.redhat.com/enter_bug.cgi?product=Fedora), but if you're not sure about that process or you want to make sure your problem is really a bug, please go ahead and post in the Fedora 17 forum (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=83). Thanks everyone!

trigpoint
29th February 2012, 10:16 AM
I am sure it will be great, just such a stupid name, doesn't mean anything.

stevea
29th February 2012, 11:02 AM
Gotta try it tonight, even tho' the name seems like some bad porn dialogue.

suryaharis
29th February 2012, 03:10 PM
i'll download it, and try it on my Virtualbox machine... :D

jpollard
29th February 2012, 04:04 PM
Hope it actually works in a VM.

Holdolin
29th February 2012, 07:03 PM
Hope it actually works in a VM.

Mee too, as that's what I usually test alpha stuff in. Then, if it works ok, and I like where it's going, i have 2 test boxes to test it in a real world enviornment. Good times :)

nonamedotc
29th February 2012, 08:03 PM
It actually works quite well in VMs. It is a little slower that others I have tried (F16,15) on VM though. GNOME shell works (as expected) - which is quite nice ...

Holdolin
29th February 2012, 09:33 PM
I can deal with the slower part. It is Alpha software after all. Guess it's time to get to downloading it and seeing what it looks/acts like :)

jpollard
29th February 2012, 10:20 PM
It actually works quite well in VMs. It is a little slower that others I have tried (F16,15) on VM though. GNOME shell works (as expected) - which is quite nice ...
I'll be finding out - I use the builtin qemu VM, and will be testing it under F16. Hopefully it will work better than the F16 tests.

nonamedotc
29th February 2012, 10:31 PM
I'll be finding out - I use the builtin qemu VM, and will be testing it under F16. Hopefully it will work better than the F16 tests.

Ah ! You reminded me of what I wanted to do but forgot yesterday. I tried it our in Virtualbox but not wuth virt-manager. When I used built-in virtmanager for one of RCs/TCs, it worked fine but Virtualbox had some problem (which I do not recall now ..)

Will post if I see something odd.

Holdolin
1st March 2012, 06:24 AM
Whelp, got the XFCE spin downloaded and runnin on a VM. She looks and feels good enough to be slated for install on a test box tomorrow. Nice work to all that have contributed to the project (should any of you happen by) :)

zukuvybz
1st March 2012, 01:37 PM
yay installing to disk from livecd no worky for me

Holdolin
1st March 2012, 04:49 PM
Ya, the install from live failed for me as well on my test box. Twice. :Y

nonamedotc
1st March 2012, 06:43 PM
live CD is not even booting in my newer laptop VirtualBox - T520 (core i7, 6GB RAM, etc). In my other laptop, T500 (P8800, 6 GB RAM), i have not yet faced too many problems .... Wonder why!

mmix
2nd March 2012, 01:15 PM
Just like F16 gnome, it didn't work, graphic driver problem.

Maybe i have to wait for F17-XFce version.

--
PS: I just upgrade F16-Xfce to F17-Xfce, it works fine on my old-2nd-pc.

AdamW
7th March 2012, 07:43 AM
mmix: there is an Xfce version of the Alpha available. We do desktop, KDE, LXDE, Xfce for Alpha.

We honestly don't really do much to support VBox / VMware, that's mostly up to those vendors to support. As far as qemu/kvm/virt-manager goes, Alpha should pretty much run and work with the exception that if you run Shell on a VM configured to use the qxl graphics driver and the Spice remote protocol (which is default for F16 and F17 hosts), Shell will crash. A lot.

You can drop to the vesa or cirrus graphics drivers, drop to the VNC remote protocol, or stick with qxl/Spice but use a different desktop or GNOME fallback mode. Any of those combinations should be okay.

tox
7th March 2012, 11:25 AM
in other words FedoraProject dont Care for actual Bug report's if ones using either VBox / VMware aslong as there using Opensource stuff a bug report will be looked at?

jpollard
7th March 2012, 01:17 PM
in other words FedoraProject dont Care for actual Bug report's if ones using either VBox / VMware aslong as there using Opensource stuff a bug report will be looked at?

It is hard to debug something when the source is not available to explain what the bug is about.

And it may be a bug in VBox or VMware that just hasn't been exercised before.

tox
7th March 2012, 10:33 PM
It is hard to debug something when the source is not available to explain what the bug is about.

And it may be a bug in VBox or VMware that just hasn't been exercised before.

ohh ok, thanks for explanation bro

AdamW
13th March 2012, 12:36 AM
tox: basically, no-one who works on Fedora is involving in maintaining VMware or VirtualBox, and neither is packaged for Fedora. So we just don't know that code very well and we aren't in a good position to be able to fix issues with it. (edit: and obviously, we _can't_ know anything about the VMware source).

Sometimes bugs get sent up the chain to the VBox / VMware devs and they determine there's actually an underlying bug somewhere in Fedora and ping it back to us - that's absolutely fine and as long as it's filed with appropriate information, it'll get worked on and fixed. But generally, if you run into a problem running Fedora in a VBox / VMware VM, your *first* port of call should be Oracle / VMware, not Fedora.

further edit: obviously, if the bug in question is nothing to do with the virtual environment you're running in - say, I dunno, you have a VM up and running fine, and then, say, Firefox crashes due to what's clearly a bug in Firefox, not in the virtualization system you're using - then it's absolutely fine to go ahead and file a bug against Fedora's Firefox package there. All of this applies only to bugs which are definitely or probably actually related to the virtualization layer itself.