PDA

View Full Version : SLiM1.2.3, Fedora15, XFCE - setup problem



jbasko
4th November 2011, 10:42 AM
Hi to all,

Im not sure if this type of problem is for this forum, but i lost with this problem a lot of time for try it...

I installed without problems rpm with Slim-1.3.2. - setting login desktop, but I find this problem. There is file "readme-fedora" where is command which has to be put to /etc/sysconfig/desktop file, but I
havent desktop file in system resp in this path. I try to create it but after reboot my desktop sw collapsed, i had to remove it.
I used a google and there are the advices for fedora14 only.

Do you have any experience with combination slim-1.3.2, fedora 15 and xfce?
Do you have any experience with setting it like autorun after reboot?

Many thanx for some advice.

Honza

sea
4th November 2011, 01:49 PM
xfce *can* use framebuffer to be loaded, rather than a login manager.
However, i dont know where that is set / changed.

i cant believe that a readme has to be renamed to desktop, i'd rather read the readme-fedora.

On the other hand, the /etc/sysconfig/desktop file has a pretty simple content ;)

DISPLAYMANAGER="slim"

Hope this helps

jbasko
4th November 2011, 02:14 PM
- ok, thanx, i will try it early and i let you know about teh result...

- one small question again - if I say by /etc/sysconfig/desktop about DISPLAYMANAGER, will i need a changes and inputs in initd folder and in rc1-6?

sea
4th November 2011, 02:58 PM
I'd check them, just to be sure.
However, while using my script to change login manager, i was never required to en-/dis-able anything else than /etc/sysconfig/desktop. But i havent checked that with every set up.

So i guess, just createing the file, with the mentioned content, should work fine, at least according to my experiences with fedora.

jbasko
4th November 2011, 03:11 PM
I try it - login display - ok! But after putting of user name and password I have a problem:

"cannot log into gnome session". I have installed only xfce and OpenBox - i use xfce (need to save cpu and ram...)

any suggestion? thanx...

sea
4th November 2011, 04:17 PM
Ok, well i havnt made any good experiences with slim.
I do prefer lxdm, which is pretty leightweight too.

David Batson
4th November 2011, 05:56 PM
I use SLiM with XFCE in Arch Linux.

See if the following is any help:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=128293
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1009987#p1009987

Note that the location of files is sometimes different in arch. For instance, instead of using /etc/init.d/ they use /etc/rc.d/ for startup files.

jbasko
5th November 2011, 10:23 AM
David Batson: ok, thanx - so, do you have a configured this config...

"/etc/sysconfig/desktop" for xfce... This is ok for gnome "DISPLAYMANAGER="slim", but i feel that i can show the slim the it has to be xfce, not gnome :) hope, that u understand me...

David Batson
5th November 2011, 05:28 PM
I do not have /etc/sysconfig/desktop in Arch Linux with Xfce4 and SLiM. I do not have it in Fedora 15 Gnome either.

jbasko
7th November 2011, 04:21 PM
i give it up :) try to find different way to solve it. thanx guys

sea
7th November 2011, 04:58 PM
@ David: it needs to be created manualy.
As both distros have a default login manager in case the file doesnt exist.

jbasko
8th November 2011, 10:33 AM
from /var/log/slim.log - unexpected signal 15

jbasko
9th November 2011, 02:19 PM
vou, move to running slim - add username and password, but i have error message "cannot open gnome session" - i dont want gnome session, i want xfce session :)

IS THERE ANY CHANCE TO SAY "I WANT XFCE SESSION..."

log:
X.Org X Server 1.10.4
Release Date: 2011-08-19
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: x86-16 2.6.32-131.2.1.el6.x86_64
Current Operating System: Linux lxbasko 2.6.40.6-0.fc15.i686.PAE #1 SMP Tue Oct 4 00:44:38 UTC 2011 i686
Kernel command line: ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_lxbasko-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_lxbasko/lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_lxbasko/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
Build Date: 07 September 2011 04:13:44PM
Build ID: xorg-x11-server 1.10.4-1.fc15
Current version of pixman: 0.20.2
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Wed Nov 9 11:13:44 2011
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.
The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
> Warning: Type "ONE_LEVEL" has 1 levels, but <RALT> has 2 symbols
> Ignoring extra symbols
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
/usr/bin/xauth: creating new authority file /home/jbasko/.Xauthority
gnome-session-is-accelerated: No hardware 3D support.
gnome-session-check-accelerated: Helper exited with code 256
gnome-session[1885]: WARNING: Session 'gnome' runnable check failed: Exited with code 1
gnome-session[1885]: WARNING: Unable to find required component 'gnome-panel'
gnome-session[1885]: Gdk-WARNING: gnome-session: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:20 PM ----------

vou, i answered myself :) im happy, i hope that could help to somebody else...

i have two created session and choose someone, so i need

edit .xinitrc at home folder
add up in file this code
exec ck-launch-session startxfce4

and create desktop file in /etc/sysconfig/
add
DISPLAYMANAGER="slim"

thank you guys for motivating me...

sea
9th November 2011, 03:14 PM
Sorry dont know where to set the session settings.
But would be interesting to know.

EDIT:
Please stop sending me PM's you have also posted on the forum.