PDA

View Full Version : first thoughts

bonito
15th November 2004, 05:01 AM
I have been using gentoo on and off for a couple years, but I could no longer be bothered with the consistant updating that takes hours to compile. I am going to list what problems I have had with fedora so far, not so much of a criticism, but in the hope that I just dont know the answers to the problems I am having and that someone on here will.

-for one thing, installation instructions for the internet based install was non existant. I was able to figure it out for the mostpart, but then I was using the main fedora server to download the packages, and the server was really slow. I cancelled the install and tried to boot into my windows partition to find a decent mirror. Since the bootloader was grub from my gentoo install I could not get into windows, and was unable to find my windows disk. I finally had to insert the gentoo cd and use lynx to go to the fedora website to find a mirror. So for one thing, it might be a good idea to have a commandline livecd type of system to make the situation above easier to perform. Some kind of howto for that cd would be helpful also.

-I was hoping to install fc 3 on a reiserfs partition, but it appears that fedora only supports ext2/3.

-I believe that the install would be improved by having the stage 2 image for graphical install on the cd instead of also downloading it for install.

-the installation was pretty decent, clean and easy to use. When I booted my completed install, it let me into my desktop with a root login the first time, and thereafter wouldnt allow it. I can understand this in a way, and was able to do things from the menu, but it was just a bit inconvenient having to type su password every time I wanted to have access to a system config.

-Firefox would not let me install plugins and extensions within their interface, forcing me to have to manually download and install a plugin like macromedia flash etc.