PDA

View Full Version : compiling linux-2.6.32.46

nagesh
6th September 2011, 06:20 PM
hi there..

Im a beginner....i hav installed fedora 15 with gnome 3 and got KDE and also LXDE as different DE's:dance: but ma question is lik i hav tried compiling linux-2.6.32.46 using following help link but after 50 long minutes at documentation itz said compilation error...suggest me plz
:confused::confused::confused:

JohnVV
7th September 2011, 12:52 AM
more information will be required
What you fallowed ?
what you did ?
what the error was ?
Did you install ALL the required software ?

and WHY an old version of the fedora 15 kernel
kernel-2.6.40.3-0.fc15.i686.rpm is in the updates

nagesh
7th September 2011, 02:29 PM
http://www.howopensource.com/2011/08/how-to-install-compile-linux-kernel-3-0-in-fedora-15-and-14/
this is the link where i have got procedure and followed the same..

i did evrythn except sudo yum update command..coz updates size was 370+MB ...it took 50 min after tat it said no VMLINUZ directory and threw copilation error...

i had installed GCC ,ncurses development package as per document says...

Compiling and configuring an Kernel was a part of ma curriculum...

JohnVV
7th September 2011, 07:31 PM
so you are using instructions for the 3.0 kernnel on an OLD 2.6.32.46 kernel when the CURRENT kernel for 15 is 2.6.40.3

the VERY VERY VERY first rule is update

su -
yum update
install the kernel source but for the very different version3 dowwnload it
( i do NOT even come close to recommending you do this)
I advise you NOT to do this very strongly - it is unadvisable to build and install the 3 kernel or a OLD kernel
BUT
if you want to build the CURRENT kernel ( with ALL the security patches installed )
you can start with this old fedora 6 guide( transposing it to fedora15 should woirk )
http://www.howtoforge.com/kernel_compilation_fedora

updates size was 370+MB .
that is TINNY a very small update .
A 2+ gig would be normal