PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] When YUM acts evil...



Blast Ang3L
16th July 2011, 01:52 AM
Hi Friends,

I looked on this forum and found similar posts. I even did a Google search and did all the suggestions from previous post. Nada. Zilch. Goose Eggs.

I know this has been posted before yet none of the yum commands are fixing this problem.

I am running XFCE Fedora 15.

I tried to update today only to be met with a message:

Error: Cannot retrieve metalink for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again :blink:

I did some more digging and found this too:

yum.Errors.RepoError: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again

and this:

libpanelappletmm-2.26.0-2.fc12.i686 has missing requires of libpanel-applet-2.so.0

I have tried yum clean all, I've rebuilded the DB, I have tried to get an update. Nothing. :doh:

For Fedora sake, I even tried to go to the Repo folder and try to delete the repos there. Nothing.

Please, for the love of everything good and descent, help!!! :eek:

stoat
16th July 2011, 02:42 AM
Well, I guess you put those repo files back where they were. Yum will never work without those. Anyway, an easy thing to try is to enter DNS nameserver IP addresses in NetworkManager. I have to do that for yum and wget. If you want to try that idea, you can use OpenDNS's IP addresses and instructions. The steps are for Ubuntu, but it's exactly the same for Fedora (ignore step #8).
https://store.opendns.com/setup/operatingsystem/ubuntu

marko
16th July 2011, 02:54 AM
@stoat

But wouldn't a total failure of DNS mean no internet at all would work? Why is yum so specially afflicted with this DNS problem?

stoat
16th July 2011, 03:54 AM
I guess so, but I didn't remember it happening that way. Maybe something like the DNS cache of my router caused a particular sequence of events to make me think about it that way. I never bothered with it again. Just now, I removed the nameserver IP addresses from that IPv4 Settings tab in NetworkManager and it affected everything.

nirik
16th July 2011, 06:16 PM
This is a machine you upgraded from a previous release?

yum remove libpanelappletmm

This package was removed in f15, and is no longer shipped or works.
Remove it and that should fix up that part of your issue.

As for the dns/other issues, do:

URLGRABBER_DEBUG=1 yum update

and look at the output. It will tell you if it can't resolve the mirror manager hostname or can't download from a mirror or what.

Blast Ang3L
16th July 2011, 10:53 PM
@ Nirik:

I tried the remove libpanel and I still get an error message:

Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again
You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem

nirik
16th July 2011, 11:45 PM
Thats back to the other issue. ;)
Solve that first... try the URLGRABBER_DEBUG line...

Blast Ang3L
17th July 2011, 01:48 AM
First of all, thanks Nirik for your help as well as others.

To answer your question before:

This is a machine you upgraded from a previous release?

Answer: Yes.

I tried the URL command and got this feedback from this command:

2011-07-16 20:47:57,763 attempt 1/10: https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-15&arch=i386
INFO:urlgrabber:attempt 1/10: https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-15&arch=i386
2011-07-16 20:47:57,767 opening local file "/var/cache/yum/i386/15/fedora/metalink.xml.tmp" with mode wb
INFO:urlgrabber:opening local file "/var/cache/yum/i386/15/fedora/metalink.xml.tmp" with mode wb
* Could not resolve host: mirrors.fedoraproject.org; Cannot allocate memory
* Closing connection #0
* Couldn't resolve host name
2011-07-16 20:47:58,419 exception: [Errno 14] curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
INFO:urlgrabber:exception: [Errno 14] curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
2011-07-16 20:47:58,421 retrycode (14) not in list [-1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7], re-raising
INFO:urlgrabber:retrycode (14) not in list [-1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7], re-raising
Error: Cannot retrieve metalink for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again

:C

nirik
17th July 2011, 02:19 AM
ok, the key here is:

Couldn't resolve host name

If you add 'nameserver 8.8.8.8' to the top of /etc/resolv.conf does it start working?

Blast Ang3L
17th July 2011, 03:10 AM
How do I do this?

nirik
17th July 2011, 05:11 PM
su -c 'nano /etc/resolv.conf'

and add 'nameserver 8.8.8.8' to the top.

You could also right click on the nm-applet, edit connections, select the connection, edit, change 'dhcp' to 'dhcp address only' and enter 8.8.8.8 into the nameserver field.

marko
17th July 2011, 05:28 PM
I'd prefer nirik's second option, that would retain your change in the permanent nm-applet configuration. If you just edit the /etc/resolv.conf directly, networkmanager will just overwrite it the next time it wants to (which is why the top of that file says "Generated by NetworkManager" as a warning) and your change would be gone.

Blast Ang3L
17th July 2011, 07:49 PM
su -c 'nano /etc/resolv.conf'

and add 'nameserver 8.8.8.8' to the top.

You could also right click on the nm-applet, edit connections, select the connection, edit, change 'dhcp' to 'dhcp address only' and enter 8.8.8.8 into the nameserver field.

***DOES THE HAPPY DANCE!!!***

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

:dance::dance::dance::dance::dance:

stoat
17th July 2011, 10:19 PM
Very well.

Since that was the same thing I suggested way back in post #2 except with a different nameserver (OpenDNS's instead of Google's), I wonder if you would take a moment to clear up a couple of issues (for the record and for my understanding). One is did you ever even try OpenDNS nameservers (because it shouldn't matter)? And the other is did this problem affect only yum and not your browser (because I claimed earlier that it is possible and was challenged)?

P.S.: Here is another example of Firefox-works-yum-doesn't that was fixed by a DNS nameserver...
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=267115So I kinda stick to my original story where I said I remember Firefox working but yum wouldn't until I added DNS nameservers into NetworkManager.

Blast Ang3L
18th July 2011, 02:14 AM
Hi Stoat,

My apologies for not trying your suggestion. I did not fully understand what you wanted me to do (aka Newbie).

All I know is that when I tried the suggestion by nirik, the updates were able to be made with no problems or error messages.

Any and all help in further education in DNS and the like is definitely appreciated. :)

SomeDamFool
18th July 2011, 03:35 AM
If you run ever run into a similar problem and it's not a DNS issue... I've found that when yum won't update an old package, and also refuses to remove it, citing the same dependency issues, that Synaptic Package Manager will remove it (them) without any complaints.

Click 'show broken packages' in Synaptic, then 'fix broken' (it removes them), and only them without wanting to remove a bunch of other stuff. You can then update with Synaptic or exit and use yum if you prefer. I keep Synaptic on board for just that reason.
Mike

COKEDUDE
18th July 2011, 03:50 AM
This is another useful one.


yum --skip-broken

Blast Ang3L
19th July 2011, 10:54 PM
If you run ever run into a similar problem and it's not a DNS issue... I've found that when yum won't update an old package, and also refuses to remove it, citing the same dependency issues, that Synaptic Package Manager will remove it (them) without any complaints.

Click 'show broken packages' in Synaptic, then 'fix broken' (it removes them), and only them without wanting to remove a bunch of other stuff. You can then update with Synaptic or exit and use yum if you prefer. I keep Synaptic on board for just that reason.
Mike

There's a Synaptic Package Manager in Fedora???? :confused: I thought only Ubuntu had that.

glennzo
20th July 2011, 12:41 AM
yum list synaptic
yum install synaptic

vaibhavatul47
5th February 2012, 12:02 PM
If you use a proxy server then you should follow these commands to use proxy server-->

http_proxy=http://Username:Passwd@Proxy:Portnumber

and then export the variables by doing this-->

export http_proxy

where =>
Username is your username given to you by your proxy administrator
Passwd is your respective password for using proxy server
Proxy is the proxy address
Portnumber is the respective portnumber.

it will definitely help you ..