PDA

View Full Version : Help! vncviwer does not work in fedora 15 gnome 3



shartz
12th July 2011, 08:10 AM
Hi experts, I am using fedora 15, and I try to open vncviewer to view my remote desktop screen.

However,

[mycomputer@f15 ~]$ vncviewer

TigerVNC Viewer for X version 1.0.90 - built May 10 2011 10:04:22
Copyright (C) 2002-2005 RealVNC Ltd.
Copyright (C) 2000-2006 TightVNC Group
Copyright (C) 2004-2009 Peter Astrand for Cendio AB
See http://www.tigervnc.org for information on TigerVNC.

Nothing poped up.. There should be a pop up screen ask for sitename and password, I see on upper left corner of screen shows tigervnc logo, but NO window shows up....
What goes wrong???????

glennzo
12th July 2011, 10:14 AM
Why not just use the built-in Remote Desktop Viewer?

For TigerVNC, as with the in-built Remote Desktop Viewer, you need to allow this though the firewall on the remote machine. Allow port 5900 and retry your connection.

Here's more. I just installed tigervnc on my client machine.

[glenn@fedora15 ~>$ sudo yum install tigervnc

With port 5900 already allowed on the remote machine I issued the following and successfully connected to the remote machine. The output below is from connect to disconnect. I did get a popup that asked for machine name and password.

[glenn@fedora15 ~>$ vncviewer &
[1] 24754
[glenn@fedora15 ~>$
TigerVNC Viewer for X version 1.0.90 - built May 10 2011 10:03:53
Copyright (C) 2002-2005 RealVNC Ltd.
Copyright (C) 2000-2006 TightVNC Group
Copyright (C) 2004-2009 Peter Astrand for Cendio AB
See http://www.tigervnc.org for information on TigerVNC.

Tue Jul 12 05:29:14 2011
CConn: connected to host 192.168.1.114 port 5900
CConnection: Server supports RFB protocol version 3.7
CConnection: Using RFB protocol version 3.7

Tue Jul 12 05:29:18 2011
TXImage: Using default colormap and visual, TrueColor, depth 24.
CConn: Using pixel format depth 24 (32bpp) little-endian rgb888
CConn: Using Tight encoding

Tue Jul 12 05:29:20 2011
CConn: Throughput 15362 kbit/s - changing to quality 6
CConn: Using Tight encoding

[1]+ Exit 1 vncviewer

shartz
13th July 2011, 04:06 AM
THanks very much!!!
Although I dont know how to open port 5900, I am able to vinagre to connect to my remote desktop. I have no need to be VNC server anyway.,....
So I am good for now!