PDA

View Full Version : Fedora insists my partitions do not exist, though I vehemently disagree



Dunhausen
11th November 2004, 12:07 AM
Something is horribly awry with my partition table. Observe:

/sbin/sfdisk -d /dev/hda

sfdisk: ERROR: sector 0 does not have an msdos signature
/dev/hda: unrecognized partition
No partitions found

and

fdisk -l /dev/hda
Note: sector size is 2048 (not 512)

Disk /dev/hda: 646 MB, 646987776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 2048 = 32901120 bytes

Disk /dev/hda doesn't contain a valid partition table


Is there a way to go about repairing my partition table? I have tried searching, but all I can find is info about fixing the Fedora Core 2 bug that makes windows unbootable.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

bunsen
11th November 2004, 12:13 AM
hi dunhausen

it would be nice if you could tell us, what the partitions on your hd should look like. what i see here is simply that your hda is detected correctly, but there are no primary or logical partitions set up (hda1, hda2,...). do you have one or more partition s there and if this is the case, which fileformat are they?

Dunhausen
11th November 2004, 01:05 AM
hi dunhausen

it would be nice if you could tell us, what the partitions on your hd should look like. what i see here is simply that your hda is detected correctly, but there are no primary or logical partitions set up (hda1, hda2,...). do you have one or more partition s there and if this is the case, which fileformat are they?
There shoudl only be ext3 filesystems and swap, I believe. /dev/hdc3 is my boot partition. /dev/hdc4 is my root partition. The rest I don't recollect, but all my data is on hdc4 so I'm not worried about losing other partitions, just that.

Anyway, I seem to have made the system unbootable as well. I discovered that the partitions were not in order on the disk and I renumbered them, with the result that grub is now confused. I am using KNOPPIX at present to access the forum.

I tried running the FC 3 rescue cd, and also the FC 3 install CDs, but both claim that I have not Fedora installations. We I go to "manually partition with Disk DRUID" in the install CDS, I am told that FC3 cannot read my partition table and asked if I want to write a new one losing all data on the drive (which I definitely do not want).

I can still mount my partitions manually from the rescue cd, and from within KNOPPIX. But I can't get the Fedora install CD to recognize them and now grub is confused.

Bah.

Dunhausen
11th November 2004, 01:08 AM
knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ sudo sfdisk -l /dev/hdc

Disk /dev/hdc: 77520 cylinders, 16 heads, 63 sectors/track
Warning: extended partition does not start at a cylinder boundary.
DOS and Linux will interpret the contents differently.
Units = cylinders of 516096 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 0+ 77519 77520- 39070048+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdc2 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/hdc3 * 20520 20722 203 102312 83 Linux
/dev/hdc4 20723 75439 54717 27577368 83 Linux
/dev/hdc5 0+ 12037 12038- 6067089 83 Linux
/dev/hdc6 12038+ 13052 1015- 511528+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/hdc7 13053+ 20519 7467- 3763336+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdc8 75440+ 77519 2080- 1048288+ 82 Linux swap

bunsen
11th November 2004, 01:10 AM
uhh... ugly.
as you do have a knoppix cd, you could mount your partitions and thus copy all relevant data (as root) to another partition. after that you could do a clean install. but next time, set up one /home partition. it is vital imho.
good luck.

edit: errm... why do you have two swap-partitions???

Dunhausen
11th November 2004, 01:20 AM
uhh... ugly.
as you do have a knoppix cd, you could mount your partitions and thus copy all relevant data (as root) to another partition. after that you could do a clean install. but next time, set up one /home partition. it is vital imho.
good luck.

edit: errm... why do you have two swap-partitions???
Sigh... that's what I was afraid I would have to do.

I have two swap-paritions because I used to have windows at the front of the drive, then I deleted it and installed another distro in its place.

Well, thank you much for you help. I guess I will google around some more and start collecting some CD-Rs for backup.