PDA

View Full Version : Installing FireFox 1.0

Code XYZ
6th November 2004, 03:56 PM
Greetings Gentlemen, I'm new to Fedora Core 2 and Linux and I would be greatfull if some one can help installing FireFox, I have down loaded "Firefox-0.10-0.1.fc2.fr.src.rpm " and tried installing it from my Terminal with this command : rpm -Uvh firefox-0.10-0.1.fc2.fr.src.rpm but every time I try I keep getting this message in my Terminal : warning:

firefox-0.10-0.1.fc2.fr.src.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID e42d547b
1:firefox warning: user machbuild does not exist - using root
warning: group machbuild does not exist - using root

has anybody else had the same problem, how can fix it so it will install also How is the best way to install RPM files ?

deuch
6th November 2004, 04:39 PM
not problem, packager used his own user to create the rpm (machbuild). When you are installing the source, the package detects that machbuild user doesn't exist and used root instead.

Be careful, you installed source package, you have to compile it to use firefox

hope it helps,

deuch

bob
6th November 2004, 04:42 PM
I'd go back to mozilla.org and download this file: firefox-1.0PR-i686-linux-gtk2+xft-installer.tar.gz . You can then simply browse to the directory and extract it, which will give you a firefox-installer. Once it's installed, inside firefox-installer you'll find the 'firefox' file to run it. You can drag that file over to the desktop and 'link here'.

As far as the rpm files, you can check out this link: http://www.rpm.org/max-rpm/s1-intro-to-rpm-lets-get-started.html
which will give you all the details you need.

Code XYZ
7th November 2004, 03:41 AM