PDA

View Full Version : Help with installation on AMD64

Mencius
4th November 2004, 07:35 AM
Hi All,

I am quite new to using linux and I am having trouble installing FC2 x86-64 on my AMD system. I have an Albatron K8X800 Pro II motherboard with Award BIOS and a 3400+ AMD Athlon 64 processor. I also have one 80GB seagate drive on UltraATA and another 160GB western digital on SATA, the SATA drive is in IDE mode. The 160GB drive is partitioned with swap, ext3, NTFS, and FAT32 partitions.

When the installation boots from the media it gets up to "hde: Max request size 1024KB" (this is my SATA drive) then I continually get a "Lost Interrupt" message. This goes on for some time after a while it brings up "DMA interrupt recovery" then that is followed by "lost interrupt" again. After some time my partitions on hde are detected and then the graphical installer launches. The install process seems to run ok. However during the installation the progress bar often freezes and does not move, strangely, when I move the mouse the progress starts up again. So during the installation I tend to randomly move the mouse around to keep it going.

After succesfully installing I was unable to boot. The process simply hangs after "decompressing linux". Also during the boot from the install media I, very briefly since it wizzes past rather fast, see a message saying: report your motherboard... etc.

Does anyone have some advice on these issues? I'd be grateful for any assistance.

Thanks

Additional System info:
Video Card: Radeon 9800Pro
Wireless: Netgear WG311v2 54Mb/s PCI
Optical: PIODATA DVD 108DX Burner
RAM: 1024MB PC3200

Boot priority:
1) CD
2) SATA
3) U-ATA

Mencius
5th November 2004, 04:44 AM
I had to email Albatron about fixing the "K8 errata #93" error and I'm running a beta bios on here that fixed that, but for some reason when the kernel is trying to detect the drive on the SATA control it loses the interupt.