PDA

View Full Version : How do I access CD-ROM from text-based shell?



TheProgrammer
4th November 2004, 07:03 AM
How do I access CD-ROM from text-based shell environment?

I have a problem that I suspect undating a display driver might
help. My display card is nVidia GeForce FX. After downloading
the driver from nVidia website and burning it on CD-R, now how
do I update the driver?


My problem is I get this messenge all the time:

Id "X" respawning too fast: disable for 5 minutes

So I edited inittab, change runlevel from 5 to 3. Now I'm in
text-based mode. I'm trying to update the display driver,
hoping that will help. Anyone ever run into this problem and
know how to fix it?


Thanks

tchung
4th November 2004, 07:07 AM
Here is how you mount cd-rom and see the content:

# mount /mnt/cdrom
# cd /mnt/cdrom
# ls

Thomas

TheProgrammer
4th November 2004, 07:42 AM
Thanks for your reply.

What does mount mean? I did #mount /mnt/cdrom, and I got an error messenge said
that -bash no such command.


However, I can access to cdrom through cd /mnt/cdrom. So what does mounting do?
Do I need it?


Thanks

tchung
4th November 2004, 08:45 AM
"mount" means attaching a device to your file system.

Try it again without "#" sign.

I guess this is your first time installing Linux.
Welcome to a new world. :)

Thomas

TheProgrammer
4th November 2004, 09:38 AM
Yes, this is my first time using Linux. I tried RedHat Linux many years ago, but I gave up eventually. Now, I'm back, and decided to master it.

I found out that if I login with root account, it would appear # sign, and if I login as normal user, it would appear $ sign.

TheProgrammer
4th November 2004, 10:31 AM
Okay, I finally copy the driver from CD-ROM to harddrive. When I run the driver file, it gave me an error messenge:

Can't find system utilities ld, please make sure you have package binutils installed.

What? What's that? binutils? This is already my third time reinstalled. What did I miss? What's wrong?

rbirdman
4th November 2004, 10:48 AM
Okay, I finally copy the driver from CD-ROM to harddrive. When I run the driver file, it gave me an error messenge:

Can't find system utilities ld, please make sure you have package binutils installed.

What? What's that? binutils? This is already my third time reinstalled. What did I miss? What's wrong?

sounds like you need to install the development tools.

for a different tack you could try running # system-config-display --reconfig from runlevel 3. this may get your gui running again

TheProgrammer
4th November 2004, 11:04 AM
I typed system-config-display as root user, but I got this error messenge:

-bash: system-config-display: command not found.

Also, when I installed FC2, I have chosen the development tools to be installed. I don't know what's wrong.

By they way, could you tell me how do I use gcc from shell?

Thanks

rbirdman
4th November 2004, 11:13 AM
are you running fc1 or redhat?