PDA

View Full Version : Installing KDE remotely via SSH



Ideal Disaster
3rd November 2004, 07:51 PM
I am running a server with Serverbeach.com, and they don't install KDE because I guess it's a security flaw or something. So, my question is, how can I install KDE via SSH? Is it even possible?

Thanks.

jayemef
3rd November 2004, 08:06 PM
Sure, you would be able to. It would be just like installing any other app from the command line. But are you ALWAYS going to be connecting remotely to this machine with SSH? If so, having KDE installed won't be doing anything for you, hehe.

kosmosik
3rd November 2004, 08:15 PM
what for you need KDE on server? :)
and as usual RTFFAQ:
http://fedorafaq.org/#installsoftware

Ideal Disaster
4th November 2004, 05:39 AM
The reason I'm doing it is because I want to connect via VNC.

Ideal Disaster
4th November 2004, 06:06 PM
Is there a way to install KDE using up2date? If so, how would I go about doing that. I couldn't figure out YUM.

jayemef
5th November 2004, 07:43 PM
As far as I know, up2date is only used for updating your system. Not actually installing / removing anything. But even in up2date's case, it is recommended you use yum over it. I believe developers are intending for yum to eventually replace up2date all together. But check this link. This should help you out.

http://www.fedoranews.org/krishnan/tutorial/kde3.2/index.shtml


All things being equal though, I wouldn't recommend KDE for a server. It's really designed to be used on personal computers. Servers genearlly can't afford to be bogged down by trivial things like appearance, which you might experience with KDE. There are plenty of other options out there that are much faster. Check here for some information on various desktop environments and windows managers: http://xwinman.org/

Not bashing KDE by any means. I just wouldn't recommend using it on a server.