PDA

View Full Version : help building rpm



benv84
2nd November 2004, 12:41 AM
i'm trying to build an rpm using

./build-2.6 kernel-module-ntfs.spec kernel-2.6.8-1.521.src.rpm x86_64

but every time i try to execute the command it tells me "Cannot find rpmbuild. Giving up." which i figured meant that i had the rpm in the wrong folder, but i then checked to see where it was looking for the files and i did have them in the right folder. if anyone could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated as i have only been using linux for a few days now.

engwnbie
2nd November 2004, 01:23 AM
i'm trying to build an rpm using

./build-2.6 kernel-module-ntfs.spec kernel-2.6.8-1.521.src.rpm x86_64

I think you may want to start with this link http://fedoranews.org/tchung/rpmbuild/ Also I have seen this

NTFS support (for mounting your Windows partition):

* Find your kernel version and processor by doing:

uname -r -p

* Then go to http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/fedora2.html and download the proper NTFS driver for your system. Do, as root:

rpm -ihv kernel-ntfs-2.6.5-1.358.i686.rpm

* Go to http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/info/ntfs.html to learn how to mount your Windows partition in Fedora. An easy way is to do, as root:

mkdir /mnt/windows

* Then do, as root:

mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows -t ntfs -r -o umask=0222

* You can add that same line to /etc/rc.local to mount your Windows partition each time you boot into Fedora.
at this site http://fedoranews.org/contributors/stanton_finley/fc2_note/ hope this helps.

benv84
2nd November 2004, 03:41 AM
i tried the first link you gave me and did what it said, but i'm still getting the same error. maybe i just don't understand where the rpmbuild directory and all the files are supposed to be placed.

and the second link has much easier instructions but unfortunately they do not have the kernel for the x86_64 architecture, which is what i need.

Dog-One
2nd November 2004, 04:03 AM
Take a quick peak in /usr/src/redhat. That's where stuff is generally kept. Also, do a rpm -qi rpm-build. It's possible that you do not have the rpm-build package. If that is the case you can get it by doing a yum install rpm-build.

benv84
2nd November 2004, 04:25 AM
Take a quick peak in /usr/src/redhat. That's where stuff is generally kept. Also, do a rpm -qi rpm-build. It's possible that you do not have the rpm-build package. If that is the case you can get it by doing a yum install rpm-build.

it turns out that i didn't even have it installed this whole time, so now hopefully my problem is solved. thank you so much for your help.

benv84
2nd November 2004, 05:18 AM
alright now i seem to have another problem. rpm-build installed fine, but now when i run the same command as before i get "Cannot find strip. Giving up.". i'm guessing this is something else i need to install but i can't find which package it is.

Dog-One
2nd November 2004, 08:53 PM
strip is part of binutils. Yum it with yum install binutils. Screwy that rpm-build didn't get it as a needed dependancy, but there you go again Dog-One, trying for perfection. ;)