PDA

View Full Version : yumex install on fedora13

changedtothis
23rd September 2010, 03:38 PM
hi all
just upgraded to fedora 13 and have a question on a problem with yumex install.
have some forms downloaded for fedora 10 but don't seem compatible with 13/
so now how do I get yumex installed and working on 13? don't have internet connextion at home so all installs have to be from install disk or downloads from local library.

any help here greatly appreciated. just a beginner here in linux so lots of details would be greatly appreciated...dealing with a dummy.

thanks in advance

changedtothis

glennzo
23rd September 2010, 08:47 PM
In your case I'd either grab some public wireless for a short time and do yum install yumex or I'd use PackageKit, which is already installed.

raji1
24th September 2010, 09:00 AM
don't mean to be rude, but what's the point of having yumex when there's nothing to download from

changedtothis
24th September 2010, 03:23 PM
well it is my understanding that I can set up a repo to install software off the install disk or using software I have downloaded.
don't mean to seem dumb but I am just delving into linux, very beginner learning phase.
downloaded software from interet at library <wine> and <yumex> but have been unable
to install on computer.
any help greatly appreciated.

thanks

changedtothis

---------- Post added at 06:23 AM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 06:19 AM CDT ----------

hi glennzo

you have helpled me in the past on my attempt to learn linux.
I have downloaded yumex and wine from the local library but have been unable to
successful install on computer. have read somewhere that yumex is much easier to use than yum...is this true.
I did have it working when I had fedora 9 but have upgraded to 13.

have tried rpm and yum on this. have these pgms in a folder in my home directory and working from that folder.

just did another download on yumex-4.9.9.1.fc13 <this is from memory> so how do I go about installing it?