PDA

View Full Version : How do I turn off firewall completely in my spin?



PryGuy
1st August 2010, 07:51 PM
Good day!
I want to completely disable firewall in my spin. The 'firewall --disabled' method in .ks file works only for the LiveCD but not for the HD installation. I have created a quick and dirty workaround for that. I put the following lines in my .ks file and it works:
sed -i -e 's/--enabled/--disabled/' /etc/sysconfig/system-config-firewall
rm /etc/sysconfig/iptables
rm /etc/sysconfig/ip6tablesThe question is, is there a more "kosher" way to disable firewall?
Thanks in advance!

Hlingler
1st August 2010, 07:57 PM
I want to completely disable firewall in my spin.While this is certainly a valid question, I have to ask: why would you want to do that? Opinions will differ, but IMHO it would be irresponsible to simply answer the question without pointing out the (potential) danger of doing so, or at least making sure that you are aware of the implications.

V

PryGuy
2nd August 2010, 06:08 AM
Well, okay, I have to agree. But I have to know two things:
1. Is this possible in theory?
2. What do I do if I want to modify it, not disable completely?

P.S. I've failed using the method described above. Will try something else...

CSchwangler
2nd August 2010, 06:58 AM
I agree with Hlingler, why would you turn the firewall off?

Anyways, why don't you disable the services?


chkconfig iptables off
chkconfig ip6tables off

gnotaras
3rd October 2010, 07:12 AM
Good day!
I want to completely disable firewall in my spin. The 'firewall --disabled' method in .ks file works only for the LiveCD but not for the HD installation.

I think a better way to disable the firewall in the kickstart file would be to use the services --disabled kickstart option like this:



services --disabled iptables,ip6tables


Hope this helps.