PDA

View Full Version : No sound in F12+KDE



Noosentaal
22nd May 2010, 04:09 PM
Hi All,

I've got no sound and I don't really know what to do. Using F12 KDE. Was talking to a friendly person on IRC and they got me to do alsa-info --upload which spat out the stuff here (http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=978ce70b230c7ba0ebf4adb497da1153143c4f57). Does anybody know what the problem is and how I can fix it?

I will happily post more information if you need it.

Many thanks in advance!

ozjd
23rd May 2010, 02:45 AM
If you don't have it install the Pulseaudio Volume Control
yum install pavucontrol

Check that there is nothing muted or set to very low volume in the output devices. Alos check that the correct device is selected in the configuration tab.

Noosentaal
23rd May 2010, 03:34 PM
Ah, that did it. It was muted... silly really - why is it set to mute by default?

Thank you very much for your help!

ozjd
24th May 2010, 03:18 AM
Ah, that did it. It was muted... silly really - why is it set to mute by default?

Thank you very much for your help!

Don't know but it often is. Worth remembering as I have had to fix it every time I've installed a new KDE system.