PDA

View Full Version : refresh rate at console mode

huanghuancn
1st March 2010, 02:35 PM
I use the integrated graphics card from intel -- Intel GMA3100.

At console mode, I set the resolution to 1024x768 through vga=ask.

But the refresh rate is too low at 60hz, and my eyes are uncomfortable.

I tried fbset utility, but it doesn't work on my machine. (There is no response)

Can anyone help me increase the refresh rate to 75hz?

Thank you very much!

JEO
1st March 2010, 05:41 PM
I am sorry but when you set the video mode using vga=ask it uses the vesa framebuffer driver and that does not support refresh rate setting.

You need a chipset specific framebuffer driver such as i810fb or intelfb. I do not know the state of intelfb but i810fb seems to be included with Fedora, although blacklisted in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

huanghuancn
2nd March 2010, 02:56 AM
Thank you :)

I am new to linux. Can you tell me how to disable vesafb and enable intelfb/i810fb in fedora, and set the refresh rate to 75hz?

By the way, I find a module called i915.ko. Does it have anything to do with video setting?

Thank you very much!

JEO
2nd March 2010, 07:49 AM
i915.ko is for hardware 3d acceleration in graphical mode, it is not a framebuffer driver.

The way you control a framebuffer driver is through module parameters. You can see what parameters a module has with the modinfo command:

modinfo -p i810fb
mode_option:Specify initial video mode
ddc3:Probe DDC bus 3 (default = 0 = no)
dcolor:use DirectColor visuals (default = 0 = TrueColor)
sync:wait for accel engine to finish drawing (default = 0)
extvga:Enable external VGA connector (default = 0)
mtrr:Use MTRR (default = 0)
accel:Use Acceleration (BLIT) engine (default = 0)
vsync2:Maximum vertical frequency of monitor in Hz (default = 60)
vsync1:Minimum vertical frequency of monitor in Hz (default = 50)
hsync2:Maximum horizontal frequency of monitor in KHz (default = 30)