PDA

View Full Version : Can't see the other drive



amd64
26th February 2010, 04:42 PM
I have two drives on my Lenovo computer. On #1 I have installed Fedora 12. On #2 I have Fedora 9 with a not functioning GRUB bootlloader. I would like to copy a number of directories/files from #2 to #1 but I can't see the #2 drive on #1. What to do?

stoat
26th February 2010, 04:53 PM
Hello amd64,

I recommend that you take a moment to post the result of this in a Fedora 12 terminal...
su
fdisk -l

amd64
26th February 2010, 06:20 PM
I did the
su
fdisk -l
and got a specification for both disk #1 and #2...but not
a directory tree from which I can transfer/copy directories/files
from #2 to #1 (or vice versa).

stoat
26th February 2010, 11:18 PM
I did the
su
fdisk -l
and got a specification for both disk #1 and #2...but not
a directory tree from which I can transfer/copy directories/files
from #2 to #1 (or vice versa). Well, that was the point of doing the fdisk. It was to confirm that you actually can see both drives while booted in Fedora 12. To me, this suggests that while you are booted in Fedora 12, you have not mounted any of the Fedora 9 partitions to mount points in the Fedora 12 filesystem.

amd64
27th February 2010, 09:15 AM
Well, that was the point of doing the fdisk. It was to confirm that you actually can see both drives while booted in Fedora 12. To me, this suggests that while you are booted in Fedora 12, you have not mounted any of the Fedora 9 partitions to mount points in the Fedora 12 filesystem.

When I'm booted in Fedora 12 I only see in the 'bootlist' the Fedora 12 alternative. How do I mount the Fedora 9 (which is on HD #2)? If I reboot with the Fedora 12 installation disk and select the 'Installing or upgrade..' alternative I see the sda and sdb (= #2) disks, both checked. If I go on both disks will be formatted (which I don't want to, of course). HELP!

stoat
27th February 2010, 11:12 PM
When I'm booted in Fedora 12 I only see in the 'bootlist' the Fedora 12 alternative. How do I mount the Fedora 9 (which is on HD #2)? If I reboot with the Fedora 12 installation disk and select the 'Installing or upgrade..' alternative I see the sda and sdb (= #2) disks, both checked. If I go on both disks will be formatted (which I don't want to, of course). HELP!I don't really know what you're talking about now. Sorry. I thought you said that you wanted to copy files from the Fedora 9 filesystem to Fedora 12. If that is what you still want to do, then I recommend that you post the results of the fdisk report as I suggested before. Then someone will probably be able to tell you exactly how to mount the Fedora 9 partition(s) to your Fedora 12 filesystem so you can transfer files. But if I misunderstood you, then I apologize and retreat from here. Maybe somebody else will understand what you want to accomplish and have some suggestions to help.

dd_wizard
27th February 2010, 11:44 PM
I think all you need to do is mount the F9 partition once you've booted into F12. If the drive shows up in Nautilus, you can just left click it and it'll automount in /media/volumename after you supply the root password. If it doesn't show up, make a mount point and use the mount command. As root type:

mkdir /mnt/F9home
mount /dev/sdXX /mnt/F9home
Where XX is the appropriate letter and number for the F9 home partition.

Hope that helps,
dd_wizard

---------- Post added at 02:44 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 02:42 PM CST ----------

Oops, if you mount it in /mnt, you'll have to manually navigate to it through File System > mnt > F9home.

dd_wizard

amd64
28th February 2010, 09:10 AM
I don't really know what you're talking about now. Sorry. I thought you said that you wanted to copy files from the Fedora 9 filesystem to Fedora 12. If that is what you still want to do, then I recommend that you post the results of the fdisk report as I suggested before. Then someone will probably be able to tell you exactly how to mount the Fedora 9 partition(s) to your Fedora 12 filesystem so you can transfer files. But if I misunderstood you, then I apologize and retreat from here. Maybe somebody else will understand what you want to accomplish and have some suggestions to help.
If I do the fdisk -l I get (disk #1 is 250,1 GB where I have F12; disk #2 is 30,1 GB where I have F9; sorry, I run a Swedish version):

"
Disk /dev/sda: 250,1 GB, 250059350016 byte
255 huvuden, 63 sektorer/spår, 30401 cylindrar
Enheter = cylindrar av 16065 · 512 = 8225280 byte
Diskidentifierare: 0x1c8626f7

Enhet Start Början **** Block Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 26 204800 83 Linux
Partition 1 ****ar inte på cylindergräns.
/dev/sda2 26 30401 243991201 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/sdb: 300,1 GB, 300069052416 byte
255 huvuden, 63 sektorer/spår, 36481 cylindrar
Enheter = cylindrar av 16065 · 512 = 8225280 byte
Diskidentifierare: 0xcab10bee

Enhet Start Början **** Block Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 * 26 36481 292832820 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/dm-0: 297,7 GB, 297728475136 byte
255 huvuden, 63 sektorer/spår, 36196 cylindrar
Enheter = cylindrar av 16065 · 512 = 8225280 byte
Diskidentifierare: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/dm-0 innehåller inte en giltig partitionstabell

Disk /dev/dm-1: 2080 MB, 2080374784 byte
255 huvuden, 63 sektorer/spår, 252 cylindrar
Enheter = cylindrar av 16065 · 512 = 8225280 byte
Diskidentifierare: 0x30307800

Disk /dev/dm-1 innehåller inte en giltig partitionstabell

Disk /dev/dm-2: 244,7 GB, 244662140928 byte
255 huvuden, 63 sektorer/spår, 29745 cylindrar
Enheter = cylindrar av 16065 · 512 = 8225280 byte
Diskidentifierare: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/dm-2 innehåller inte en giltig partitionstabell

Disk /dev/dm-3: 5184 MB, 5184159744 byte
255 huvuden, 63 sektorer/spår, 630 cylindrar
Enheter = cylindrar av 16065 · 512 = 8225280 byte
Diskidentifierare: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/dm-3 innehåller inte en giltig partitionstabell
"

stoat
28th February 2010, 05:30 PM
If nobody else has anything better to say, then it appears to me that your two Fedora systems are using Logical Volume Management. The fdisk suggests that each LVM physical volume has the default root and swap logical volumes. So to access files in the Fedora 9 system from the Fedora 12 system, you need to mount the Fedora 9 root logical volume.

I don't use Gnome any more. So I don't know what (if anything) Gnome does about mounting other existing partitions like dd_wizard was talking about. And I don't use LVM anymore, but I still remember how to manually mount a logical volume. If you want to try that, then these are the relevant terminal commands to activate and list the existing volume groups and logical volumes.
su
vgchange -a y
vgs
lvsNow locate in that output the volume group and logical volume of the Fedora 9 root partition and use those in the next commands to mount it...
su
mkdir /mnt/f9_root
mount /dev/[volume group]/[logical volume] /mnt/f9_rootNow see if you can browse the filesystem of the Fedora 9 root partition in /mnt/f9_root using Nautilus. Copy the files you want.

amd64
28th February 2010, 06:47 PM
If nobody else has anything better to say, then it appears to me that your two Fedora systems are using Logical Volume Management. The fdisk suggests that each LVM physical volume has the default root and swap logical volumes. So to access files in the Fedora 9 system from the Fedora 12 system, you need to mount the Fedora 9 root logical volume.

I don't use Gnome any more. So I don't know what (if anything) Gnome does about mounting other existing partitions like dd_wizard was talking about. And I don't use LVM anymore, but I still remember how to manually mount a logical volume. If you want to try that, then these are the relevant terminal commands to activate and list the existing volume groups and logical volumes.
su
vgchange -a y
vgs
lvsNow locate in that output the volume group and logical volume of the Fedora 9 root partition and use those in the next commands to mount it...
su
mkdir /mnt/f9_root
mount /dev/[volume group]/[logical volume] /mnt/f9_rootNow see if you can browse the filesystem of the Fedora 9 root partition in /mnt/f9_root using Nautilus. Copy the files you want.

Dear Stout: Thank U VERY VERY MUCH.
Your instructions resulted in
[root@dan dan]# vgchange -a y
2 logical volume(s) in volume group "VolGroup00" now active
2 logical volume(s) in volume group "vg_dan" now active
[root@dan dan]# vgs
VG #PV #LV #SN Attr VSize VFree
VolGroup00 1 2 0 wz--n- 279,25G 32,00M
vg_dan 1 2 0 wz--n- 232,69G 0
[root@dan dan]# lvs
LV VG Attr LSize Origin Snap% Move Log Copy% Convert
LogVol00 VolGroup00 -wi-a- 277,28G
LogVol01 VolGroup00 -wi-ao 1,94G
lv_root vg_dan -wi-ao 227,86G
lv_swap vg_dan -wi-ao 4,83G

and

[root@dan dan]# mkdir /mnt/f9_root
[root@dan dan]# mount /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 /mnt/f9_root
[root@dan dan]#

Now I can see all directories and files in my F9! :):)