PDA

View Full Version : Copying the Acer A150 install to a completely diff laptop?



myjess
13th February 2010, 09:38 AM
Is it possible for me to copy the A150 install to a completely different laptop?
I have the A150 setup the way I want it with packages and synaptics, and I want to copy it's install over to a medion laptop.

Thanks.

giulix
13th February 2010, 09:58 AM
Short answer: no. The time saved by not performing a new installation will be wasted fixing all the problems that will arise

myjess
13th February 2010, 10:25 AM
How then can I pull all my package install info to a text file, and I will do a cmdline yum install with the text file on the other laptop?

Thanks.

giulix
13th February 2010, 10:41 AM
Mmmmhhh... I've never done that. I would probably do


rpm -qa > installedpkgs.txt

and then


yum -y install `cat installedpkgs.txt`

I guess...

myjess
13th February 2010, 05:25 PM
Thanks for that. Funny though, graphical lvm didn't get added.