PDA

View Full Version : Help with Video Driver ATI 200m



JoeKer1086
11th February 2010, 06:22 PM
Ok, I have an ATI Radeon card in my laptop....its a little old but it works with most versions of linux. I run arch linux with the xf86-video-ati driver and have no problems.....but I am having crashes with both fedora 11 and 12 that I have narrowed down to being the video driver.....I am willing to work with this because I want a stable version of linux to use for work and develpment purposes (which is why I wanted to use fedora in the first place b/c i thought it was more stable than alot of other versions). Well I narrowed it down to it being the video driver causing crashes....but i dont know how to fix this....i want to run kde....i use kde for arch so i didnt think it would be a problem.....how would i go about either patching the driver or pulling the driver from my current arch install??? can anyone help with this?

pkands
11th February 2010, 07:37 PM
I have to use the "nomodeset" kernel parameter with the ATI R200. Is that the same as the M200?

JoeKer1086
11th February 2010, 07:52 PM
I think it is the same card....not positive...do you have a gateway laptop? regardless how do you set that up? and do you run kde or gnome?

pkands
11th February 2010, 09:41 PM
In my case it is not a laptop but a low end HP PC. Other distributions don't seem to have this problem but I like Fedora...I just don't have the new graphical boot but I 've grown used to the moving bar version.
Just add "nomodeset" to the end of the kernel line for the fedora entry in grub.conf
for me it looks like:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32.7-37.fc12.i686 ro root=UUID=353cfd76-2cff-4282-b22c-ffedae2e760b LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet nomodeset
Hope that helps with your problem

JoeKer1086
11th February 2010, 09:51 PM
what about menu.lst??? little confused now...

pkands
11th February 2010, 11:42 PM
in fedora menu.lst is a link to grub.conf.
I edit grub.conf

David Batson
12th February 2010, 12:25 AM
Yes, I use nomodeset in /etc/boot/grub.conf to avoid issues I was having without it. I have the ATI Mobility Radeon 9600 (R350 I believe).