PDA

View Full Version : Play Vob files

fairmonk
22nd January 2010, 10:43 AM
Hi,
I have a DVD movie on my HDD. It has VIDEO_TS folder which contains *.BUP, *.IFO, and *.VOB files.
I can play them with VLC player, but I can't select (like in WMP) from the menu: Scene selection/ Play/ Set up/ Special futures...
Is there any player that implements these features or does VLC have them somewhere hidden in it's menu ?

smr54
22nd January 2010, 11:26 AM
Try, from a terminal

cd <directory containing VIDEO_TS>

cvlc ./VIDEO_TS

You'll see a lot of things in the terminal which can safely be ignored. It should show a menu on the video's screen.

I'm sure there are better ways to do it, but that should work. (I'm no expert on VLC or mplayer, just use them to play videos from time to time.)

fairmonk
22nd January 2010, 12:23 PM
Try, from a terminal

cd <directory containing VIDEO_TS>

cvlc ./VIDEO_TS

You'll see a lot of things in the terminal which can safely be ignored. It should show a menu on the video's screen.

I'm sure there are better ways to do it, but that should work. (I'm no expert on VLC or mplayer, just use them to play videos from time to time.)

Yes, it does work this way. Many thanks.

simon2000
15th February 2011, 09:14 AM
hi smr54

How do I get cvlc or vlc installed

when I type:
which cvlc

I got "command not found"

Thanks

Adunaic
15th February 2011, 10:46 AM
You can use yum to find out what you need:

yum provides */cvlc

Which will tell you that cvlc is provided by VLC. So just do

yum install vlc

DBelton
15th February 2011, 03:33 PM
you can open the containing folder with vlc...

OR, you can open the VIDEO_TS.IFO file with vlc and get what you wish. (The IFO file is the one that contains all of the information on menus, chapters, etc... and locations of them back in the VOB files