PDA

View Full Version : Every thing became slow!!!



byammanuru
21st January 2010, 01:06 AM
Hi all.

Yesterday I built the 2.6.32.4 kernel using the same config file as the one installed by default (Fed 12){I did not change any option in the make menuconfig step}. But after this the GUI became very slow, It does not start for even after 5 min. But the text consoles are running fine. What possibly could have gone wrong. I'm attaching the config files ( both, already existing and the new).

This is my lspci output:


00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
06:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
06:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
06:04.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
06:04.3 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller


I'm compiling the kernel for the first time so I'm not sure what the problem is. Any help in this regard is appreciated.

Thanks.

--
Bhargava

tashirosgt
24th January 2010, 12:49 AM
It would be hard to diagnose this without more information. You recompiled the kernel modules when you compiled the kernel, correct? Have to looked in the log files in the /var/log directory to see if any of them are filling up with error messages? When you boot from the old kernel, do gui things work at normal speed?

byammanuru
24th January 2010, 01:17 AM
You recompiled the kernel modules when you compiled the kernel, correct?
I took the complete source : copied the config file in the /boot to the source directory. used the
make menuconfig and saved the config file without changing a thing. the used the
make && make modules_install && make install.


When you boot from the old kernel, do gui things work at normal speed?
Yes, it works at normal speed.


Have to looked in the log files in the /var/log directory to see if any of them are filling up with error messages?

No I'll look into it and then post them again.

Thanks.

--
Bhargava

byammanuru
24th January 2010, 08:47 PM
Do I have to recompile the desktop managers as-well I used kde previously, so do I have to recompile the KDE from the source again? I thought there is no need to recompile programs already installed.

Thanks.
--
Bhargava

tashirosgt
24th January 2010, 10:22 PM
Generally speaking, you don't have to recompile installed programs when you use a new kernel. I, myself, don't use KDE.

smurffit
24th January 2010, 10:40 PM
I've checked your config and it looks fine. (although there is much potential to tune it :D) Maybe you wanna recompile it, but make a "make clean && make oldconfig" before you do a "make menuconfig".