PDA

View Full Version : How to use system clipboard in termal vim



listar
19th January 2010, 03:13 AM
I want to use system clipboard of vim in the termal of X mode, not text mode. But when I type reg command in vim, I haven't seen the system clipboard, And I can't copy the content of vim to other applications, such as firefox.

My version is as follows :
Fedora release 12 (Constantine)

I have installed vim rpms as follows:

rpm -qa |grep vim
vim-enhanced-7.2.315-1.fc12.i686
vim-minimal-7.2.315-1.fc12.i686
vim-common-7.2.315-1.fc12.i686
vim-X11-7.2.315-1.fc12.i686


Any ideas?
Thanks in advance!

aleph
19th January 2010, 03:47 AM
The vim version may not be compiled with x11-awareness. See the output of vim --version.

listar
19th January 2010, 03:52 AM
The vim version may not be compiled with x11-awareness. See the output of vim --version.

Here it is:

VIM - Vi IMproved 7.2 (2008 Aug 9, compiled Dec 3 2009 08:50:41)
Included patches: 1-315
Modified by <bugzilla@redhat.com>
Compiled by <bugzilla@redhat.com>
Huge version without GUI. Features included (+) or not (-):
+arabic +autocmd -balloon_eval -browse ++builtin_terms +byte_offset +cindent
-clientserver -clipboard +cmdline_compl +cmdline_hist +cmdline_info +comments
+cryptv +cscope +cursorshape +dialog_con +diff +digraphs -dnd -ebcdic
+emacs_tags +eval +ex_extra +extra_search +farsi +file_in_path +find_in_path
+float +folding -footer +fork() +gettext -hangul_input +iconv +insert_expand
+jumplist +keymap +langmap +libcall +linebreak +lispindent +listcmds +localmap
+menu +mksession +modify_fname +mouse -mouseshape +mouse_dec +mouse_gpm
-mouse_jsbterm +mouse_netterm -mouse_sysmouse +mouse_xterm +multi_byte
+multi_lang -mzscheme -netbeans_intg -osfiletype +path_extra +perl +postscript
+printer +profile +python +quickfix +reltime +rightleft +ruby +scrollbind
+signs +smartindent -sniff +startuptime +statusline -sun_workshop +syntax
+tag_binary +tag_old_static -tag_any_white -tcl +terminfo +termresponse
+textobjects +title -toolbar +user_commands +vertsplit +virtualedit +visual
+visualextra +viminfo +vreplace +wildignore +wildmenu +windows +writebackup
-X11 -xfontset -xim -xsmp -xterm_clipboard -xterm_save
system vimrc file: "/etc/vimrc"
user vimrc file: "$HOME/.vimrc"
user exrc file: "$HOME/.exrc"
fall-back for $VIM: "/etc"
f-b for $VIMRUNTIME: "/usr/share/vim/vim72"
Compilation: gcc -c -I. -Iproto -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -O2 -g -pipe -Wall -fexceptions -fstack-protector --param=ssp-buffer-size=4 -m32 -march=i686 -mtune=atom -fasynchronous-unwind-tables -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=1 -D_REENTRANT -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPERL_USE_SAFE_PUTENV -DDEBUGGING -I/usr/local/include -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -I/usr/include/gdbm -I/usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0/i386-linux-thread-multi/CORE -I/usr/include/python2.6 -pthread -I/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/i386-linux
Linking: gcc -L. -rdynamic -Wl,-export-dynamic -Wl,-E -Wl,-rpath,/usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0/i386-linux-thread-multi/CORE -L/usr/local/lib -o vim -lselinux -lncurses -lacl -lgpm -Wl,-E -Wl,-rpath,/usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0/i386-linux-thread-multi/CORE -L/usr/local/lib -L/usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0/i386-linux-thread-multi/CORE -lperl -lresolv -lutil -lc -L/usr/lib/python2.6/config -lpython2.6 -lutil -Xlinker -export-dynamic -lruby -lrt -lm

aleph
19th January 2010, 04:00 AM
The output says vim is not compiled with X11 support. You may have to use gvim instead.

listar
19th January 2010, 04:12 AM
The output says vim is not compiled with X11 support. You may have to use gvim instead.

Oh, got it.
But I think there is another way to let vim support X11.
I have to try.

aleph
19th January 2010, 04:21 AM
File a bug report and ask the maintainers to recompile vim with x11 support?

listar
20th January 2010, 04:33 AM
File a bug report and ask the maintainers to recompile vim with x11 support?


Recompiling vim can solve this problem, but I don't want to do that way. I have to use gvim for a time when wanting to system clipboard.

droidhacker
20th January 2010, 04:57 PM
If you're using Gnome-Terminal, why don't you just use Ctrl-Shift-C and Ctrl-Shift-V?

listar
5th February 2010, 02:25 AM
If you're using Gnome-Terminal, why don't you just use Ctrl-Shift-C and Ctrl-Shift-V?

It can't not scroll, or I haven't found how to scroll.