LinuxR
16th January 2010, 04:41 AM
Hey, im rather new to linux. The goal is to do:

sudo apt-get install Virtualbox
sudo apt-get virtualbox
sudo aptitude install virtualbox

ive tried all those combinations and they all shoot back the same reply:

sudo: apt-get: command not found

Every forum ive read says that my Fedora installed wrong and that i am screwed. Can anybody help me with this please?

Also does anyone have a link to download a free windows xp iso for virtualbox to run off of?
Thank you,
Jason

leigh123linux
16th January 2010, 04:46 AM
Hey, im rather new to linux. The goal is to do:

sudo apt-get install Virtualbox
sudo apt-get virtualbox
sudo aptitude install virtualbox

ive tried all those combinations and they all shoot back the same reply:

sudo: apt-get: command not found

Every forum ive read says that my Fedora installed wrong and that i am screwed. Can anybody help me with this please?

Also does anyone have a link to download a free windows xp iso for virtualbox to run off of?
Thank you,
Jason

Anyone that posts a link will receive a warning as it isn't permitted by the forum rules.

GoinEasy9
16th January 2010, 04:47 AM
This is Fedora not Ubuntu or Debian. Fedora uses yum and/or rpm. You might want to look at the documentation here:
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/

LinuxR
16th January 2010, 04:58 AM
o sorry, missed that rule. Question still applies for the apt-get then. Any assistance would be great

leigh123linux
16th January 2010, 04:59 AM
o sorry, missed that rule. Question still applies for the apt-get then. Any assistance would be great

uname -r

marcrblevins
16th January 2010, 05:04 AM
Very funny.

I probably could, but I won't(bandwith wise). You still need your own product/key ID to install it.

You could download it from MSDN Subscriber Downloads.

smr54
16th January 2010, 05:16 AM
I'm not sure that anyone has clearly explained one part of this. You are almost certainly reading tutorials for Ubuntu. It's a very popular distribution.