View Full Version : Just some questions to developers.

23rd May 2004, 12:14 AM
I'm a fairly well educated developer. I've only really done development in Windows and DOS(Oh don't ask...) and I would really like to start developing for Linux.

However, since I'd really like to just jump right in and not take a whole lot of time searching(so I can give back to the Linux community right away), are there any sites dedicated to Linux Development Tutorials at different stages.

Any suggestions are welcome. :-)

This might even be a good place to help people who just want to start development and know very little or absolutely nothin'... Just a thought.

23rd May 2004, 03:38 AM
That's an awfully broad question, so I'll throw a butt-load back at ya:

What do you want to develop? What language do you want to attempt to do it in? What language(s) are you most comfortable with? What type of application(s) have you developed in the past? Do you want to start your own or work on an on-going project (there's plenty that can use help)?

Working on Linux systems is a two-edged sword: there's an incredible amount of freedom to choose the answers to the above questions; the down-side is that at some point, you have to answer the durn questions!

(Me? I'm a Java weenie - and Java on *nix systems is just peach!)

23rd May 2004, 03:52 PM
Sorry, I never really thought about those questions when I posted, or I'd of mentioned this... lol

Well, I've done some Development in C/C++, Perl(Strictly web development, but it wasn't a simple webpage. :-) ) and I've looked at and played with a few other languages, but never really liked them as much as those 3.