PDA

View Full Version : Installing OpenGL for programming

Fesh
12th October 2004, 07:57 PM
Does anybody know the most painless way to install OpenGL so that I can program with it. I have got the nvidia OpenGL graphics driver installed (using yum). So now I am looking for a way to start using OpenGL in my c,c++ programs. I am very new to linux and FC2, but would really appreciate any help on how to set up my developement environment.

tashirosgt
12th October 2004, 08:16 PM
A simple test is to use the command
glxinfo
to see if the openGL extensions are present in the X server.
If the extensions are present, just write a simple c program that uses openGL and try to compile it. That will reveal any problems with missing libraries etc.

Fesh
12th October 2004, 08:25 PM
Hmm, I ran it and this was the output:

[fesh@server fesh]$ glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x21 24 tc 1 0 0 c . . 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x22 24 dc 1 0 0 c . . 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
Segmentation fault
[fesh@server fesh]$

This seems like it is bad. Can anyone help with this?

Fesh
12th October 2004, 08:26 PM
On second thought, does this mean the nvidia OpenGL display driver is not correctly installed?

Finalzone
12th October 2004, 08:33 PM
It seems that glx is missing. You can find details how to unistall Nvidia driver with 3D support enabled on http://www.fedorafaq.org/#nvidia . That assumes you won't have to change the kernel in a future other than bug fixes.

Fesh
12th October 2004, 08:40 PM
So you are saying I should uninstall the driver and re-install it?

Finalzone
12th October 2004, 08:45 PM
Depending how you installed the driver (rpm or official NVidia method), I suggest to reinstall it.

tashirosgt