PDA

View Full Version : fedora 8, 10, 11

paxter
18th December 2009, 05:55 AM
hi,

i am completely new to the fedora community, i have no idea what i am doing.
with that said i burned fedora 8, 10, and 11 checked the sha1 verified everything was fine
i had originally installed fedora 8 on an old pc i had from windows XP without any problems
messed with it some, upgraded to 10 again no problems. tired to update 11 got a message about ext3 not found ext4 not found, re installed 10 the loader loads up now i have a blank screen with a cursor it the left hand corner

again i had 10 installed fine prior to all this can any one point me in the right direction to solve this issue or am i way over my head trying to figure this stuff out. i have spent 3 days searching these forums.

i'm just not quite sure what i need to do. oh, i tried to install 8 again and it wouldn't take either. i think the 10 problem has something to do with the graphic driver it's a geforce 7400 nvidia and something to do with the grub, but like i said i get a blinking cursor and not quite sure how to access the grub or command line.
i hope i am descriptive enough so someone can point me in right direction
i just want my fedora back.

thanks

CSchwangler
18th December 2009, 08:33 AM
What exactly was the problem with F11? In order to install F11 you need a /boot partition of size 300MB, which has to be ext3. If you install from a liveCD, the / partiton must be ext4 (since the liveCD is ext4 and the content is just moved from CD to your disc).
These restrictions are lifted with F12, where you don't need a /boot partition and everything can be ext4.
Unfortunately, F10 is out of support now (as usual for Fedora), so I would strongly suggest to either use F11 or F12.

paxter
18th December 2009, 08:46 AM
so if i download 12 i shouldn't have any problems, with an older machine? i know the machine i have is only 32. i have yet to try 12. i thought that my computer wouldn't respond to it well