PDA

View Full Version : NTFS support in kernel 2.6.8-1.603



ljcasey
9th October 2004, 10:10 PM
Hi, I know there are some other posts on this but none of them are any help to me at this stage.

I have the 2.6.8-1.603 kernel and i need NTFS support so i can access files on a second hdd. There is not a rpm in the linux-ntfs project for my kernel version unfortunatley.

What must I do now. Please explain in noob terms please :)

Thanks
Lee

SuperNu
10th October 2004, 01:24 AM
Whenever I needed NTFS support for my kernel, I just followed the instructions from the build your own RPM page. (http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/build.html) The resulting module worked fine on my system. Just be sure to download the shell script (http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/build-2.6) and the spec file (http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/kernel-ntfs.spec) and you have the kernel sourcecode RPM available as well.

--SN

ljcasey
10th October 2004, 03:28 AM
Ok im gonna have a crack at this. But my first problem is i cant seem to find my kernel-source*.rpm? I updated the kernel via yum update. I have tried to locate it but nothing comes up. Where should i look or where could i get the kernel-source*.rpm

Thanks for help :)

SuperNu
10th October 2004, 04:44 AM
The RPM will be named kernel-sourcecode-2.6.8-1.603.noarch.rpm. Since I don't use yum, I don't know exactly what commands you will have to issue in order to install the source RPM.

--SN

Jman
10th October 2004, 07:01 AM
kernel-sourcecode is not a source rpm, strangely enough. Just run
yum install kernel-sourcecode to get it.

ljcasey
10th October 2004, 01:48 PM
That didnt seem to work, below you can see what happened...
Anyone else know where i can find the source rpm for my kernel?

[root@fedora kc]# yum install kernel-sourcecode
Setting up Install Process
Setting up Repo: development
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
developmen: ################################################## 3426/3426
No Match for argument kernel-sourcecode
Nothing to do

SuperNu
10th October 2004, 04:42 PM
I just looked at the Fedora development folder on ftp.heanet.ie (ftp://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/fedora/linux/core/development/i386/Fedora/RPMS) and there isn't a kernel-sourcecode RPM. I noticed that sometimes with the development kernels RedHat doesn't release the kernel-sourcecode RPMs that are needed to build Nvidia drivers or NTFS RPMs. Looks like you will either have to do without NTFS support for this RPM or rebuild the src.rpm and hope that builds the kernel-sourcecode RPM for you or go back to an earlier kernel.

--SN

ljcasey
10th October 2004, 07:37 PM
Thanks for that. I also had troubles installing my nvidia drivers with that kernel. I have decided to go for a earlier kernel one which is more supported.

Can you recommend a kenerl version? where would i get it and how would i go about installing it? Sorry to be a bother, your help is MUCH appreciated :)

imdeemvp
10th October 2004, 07:46 PM
Btw, are you using fc3 test version? Now try using these tools: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/index.html and please read the instructions!

SuperNu
10th October 2004, 09:05 PM
Btw, are you using fc3 test version? Now try using these tools: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/index.html and please read the instructions!
imdeemvp, the problem isn't the directions, it is that RedHat doesn't release the kernel-sourcecode RPM for some development versions of the kernel. Therefore, trying to install anything that needs the kernel source, NTFS module, Nvidia module, etc is impossible.

ljcasey, I personally use the latest released kernel version that I can which includes the kernel-sourcecode RPM. Just find an earlier one that includes the kernel-sourcecode RPM and supports your hardware without problems. Or, you could always recompile the kernel src.rpm and hope that it builds the kernel-sourcecode RPM for you.

--SN

ljcasey
10th October 2004, 09:36 PM
Thanks for your help. I am going to do a fresh install of FC2 as i was using FC3 test. I think i will be able to get the source for the kernel version which ships with the release im downloading. Thanks again
Lee

imdeemvp
10th October 2004, 09:59 PM
I am going to do a fresh install of FC2 as i was using FC3 test.
thanks for your clarification....many users testing fc3 are having same problems.