PDA

View Full Version : Fedora 12 RPM Fusion breaks Yum and PackageKit!



Bugzillamonster
19th November 2009, 12:45 PM
Installing the RPM Fusion repositories brakes Yum and PackageKit.

Both stop working until the offending repo files are deleted and I can't download anything from any repository because "yum.py" or something doesn't release the lock and become a zombie(brains! brains!. Sorry)

I don't know how to fix this as I tried to edit the repo and put the "failovermethod=priority" in it and it didn't work.
I tried to make a repo file from scratch and it didn't work either.

There are no messages on the "Yum log file" I got this:

Nov 19 17:34:44 Installed: rpmfusion-free-release-10-5.noarch
Nov 19 18:20:10 Erased: rpmfusion-free-release
Nov 19 18:23:35 Installed: rpmfusion-free-release-10-5.noarch
Nov 19 18:38:03 Erased: rpmfusion-free-release

So I'm here now trying to see if anybody else is experiencing this and to ask for directions as I don't know what to do.

ps: Could I copy the repositories and make a local repo? If yes where can I find information about doing that?

Thank you all and cheers.

Gödel
19th November 2009, 04:41 PM
It doesn't break anything here.

There may be a background packagekit process that is running holding a lock, type 'top', or 'ps -ef | grep -i package')

Also try 'yum clean all' once the lock is released.

glennzo
19th November 2009, 07:41 PM
Are you sure you have the Fedora 12 rpmfusion packages installed? I see 10.5 in your post of yum.log.

stivn
19th November 2009, 08:16 PM
Got the same problem here. Did anyone found a solution? Got the 10.5 package of rpmfusion too. Thats the version you get when you install it as it is described on rpmfusion.org. Need help! Thanx!

Bugzillamonster
19th November 2009, 08:24 PM
It doesn't break anything here.

There may be a background packagekit process that is running holding a lock, type 'top', or 'ps -ef | grep -i package')

Also try 'yum clean all' once the lock is released.

Yep there was a "yum[something].py" locking everything up, that I tried killing, but it turned into a zombie process that only did go away when I killed the packagekitd process also, and it don't give any error messages it just hangs in there for hours(trust me I was patient the first time). On a different note thank you for the command line to finding packages on top, I tried the top and searched manually LoL for all the processes it was hard work :rolleyes:

Anyways after killing the process still the problem was there I can't use RPM, Yum or PackageKit for anything because the minute I try to the same process comes back and lock everything, not even a reboot gets rid of the process that spawns back which is very strange how does it persist between sessions is a mystery to me. By the way I have reinstalled Fedora 12 4x already. The first time I didn't know what it happened so I tried to fallow my steps to figure what went wrong and the minute I installed the rpmfusion it begun. The others was because because it locks everything I couldn't remove the packages so I had to search and see what was installed which I used AIDE to do it. Almost forgot the "yum clean all" was the first thing I tried it didn't work because it got queued behind the zombie process I'm telling you, it locks everything. I have to go in manually search the files and do it by hand no automagic for anything. Oh! and I had to reboot or it wouldn't get rid of the zombies.


Are you sure you have the Fedora 12 rpmfusion packages installed? I see 10.5 in your post of yum.log.

I noted that too, but if it helps I followed this tutorial on how to add repositories manually.

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/rhel5-fedora-core-add-new-yum-repository.html

Those messages are from that attempt not from the RPMFusion website instructions that I used to install the first RPMs.

As far as I know I didn't do anything wrong I changed the 12

The original rpmfusion-free:

[rpmfusion-free]
name=RPM Fusion for Fedora $releasever - Free
#baseurl=http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
mirrorlist=http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-rpmfusion-free-fedora-$releasever-$basearch

The template I used

[foo]
name=Foo for RHEL/ CentOS $releasever - $basearch
baseurl=http://foo.nixcraft.com/centos/$releasever/$basearch/
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=http://foo.nixcraft.com/RPM-GPG-KEY.txt

How it looked at the end.

[rpmfusion-free]
name=RPM Fusion for Fedora $releasever - $basearch - Free
baseurl=http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-rpmfusion-free-fedora-12-primary

I'm really lost here, and full of envy seeing people say that they have no problem with it wishing I could say the same some day.

And I'm still trying to figure this one out for creating local repos.

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/redhat-centos-fedora-linux-setup-repo.html

Thank you folks for all the help.

Gödel
19th November 2009, 08:37 PM
You should delete those rpmfusion files in /etc/yum.repos.d/ and install them like this


su -c 'rpm -Uvh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm'

Bugzillamonster
19th November 2009, 08:52 PM
I found another thread that may be related as the guy is having trouble making a local repo.

Local repository problem
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=234252

And it looks to me that the py thingy is giving him problems to and he have a nice trace there, well better then what I got anyways.

Cheers.

stivn
19th November 2009, 08:57 PM
Already done that a few times with


yum erase rpmfusion-free-release rpmfusion-nonfree-release


but did not help anything.

Until i reinstall the rpmfusion repo "yum update" works well. when i then install rpmfusion with


su -c 'rpm -Uvh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm'

yum updates freezes after:


[root@champery stefan]# yum update
Geladene Plugins: fastestmirror, presto, refresh-packagekit
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
fedora/metalink | 26 kB 00:00

Bugzillamonster
19th November 2009, 08:58 PM
You should delete those rpmfusion files in /etc/yum.repos.d/ and install them like this


su -c 'rpm -Uvh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm'

I did what you asked and is blocked again.

Anything you want to try before I use rm to delete the repos and reboot?

Edit: 17420 root 20 0 33748 17m 7980 S 0.0 0.6 0:00.32 yumBackend.py

The zombie thread as listed by top

Edit: If I try yum update what I get in the terminal is this message over and over again.


[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# yum update
Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
Existing lock /var/run/yum.pid: another copy is running as pid 17420.
Another app is currently holding the yum lock; waiting for it to exit...
The other application is: PackageKit
Memory : 18 M RSS ( 33 MB VSZ)
Started: Fri Nov 20 04:55:05 2009 - 19:42 ago
State : Sleeping, pid: 17420

As you can see I can't run yum, rpm or packagekit for anything. I have to go to /etc/yum.repos.d/ and manually delete all rpmfusion repos and reboot to gain control again.

Cheers.

Gödel
19th November 2009, 09:17 PM
I think there's a problem with the repos, I don't get a freeze but the mirrors aren't available.

btw i did 'yum remove PackageKit-command-not-found', but I doubt it's causing the freezing issue for you.

Edit: I have to do


yum --disablerepo=rpmfusion* update

Bugzillamonster
19th November 2009, 09:28 PM
I think there's a problem with the repos, I don't get a freeze but the mirrors aren't available.

btw i did 'yum remove PackageKit-command-not-found', but I doubt it's causing the freezing issue for you.

Edit: I have to do


yum --disablerepo=rpmfusion* update

[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# yum --disablerepo=rpmfusion* update
Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
Existing lock /var/run/yum.pid: another copy is running as pid 17420.
Another app is currently holding the yum lock; waiting for it to exit...
The other application is: PackageKit
Memory : 18 M RSS ( 33 MB VSZ)
Started: Fri Nov 20 04:55:05 2009 - 31:19 ago
State : Sleeping, pid: 17420

There it is again LoL
Frustrating I know.

Cheers

Gödel
19th November 2009, 09:34 PM
just kill that process, it's probably stuck because of the rpmfusion issues, it's such a great app it isn't it? :rolleyes:

Bugzillamonster
19th November 2009, 09:43 PM
just kill that process, it's probably stuck because of the rpmfusion issues, it's such a great app it isn't it? :rolleyes:

Well, that is what I'm trying to say I can't.

If I do a kill -9 17420 it just turns into a zombie and spawns a packagekitd or something that needs to be killed too before I can kill the yumBackend.py thingy.

Now you think the system would work right?

It doesn't the minute I try to use rpm, yum or packagekit it gets blocked again.

There may be a problem with the repos but I don't think packagekit or yum or rpm should be so vulnerable.

Cheers.

Edit: Update:

I issued an

[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# gnome-system-monitor&

and killed the processes;

yum
yumBackend.py
packagekitd

and then tried the:

yum --disablerepo=rpmfusion* update

And it worked this time. Don't know why it wasn't killing the processes before but now it seems to kill them without a problem. I feel silly to have to report this and I know it makes me look bad, but seriously it wasn't killing the yumBackend.py before and I don't know how to explain this behaviour.

Still, I can't update anything using packagekit or it gets blocked. But I guess that is an improvement LoL

Anyone have more ideas on how to trace this problem?
Or how I could install manually the packages from the rpmfusion repositories for now?
I tried installing vlc but I can't find the packages that the dependencies are on :(

Thank you guys.

Edit: Upadate

So I removed packagekit and it didn't work. I guess the problem is in the Yum app.

07:05:02 : Connected to an network
07:05:02 : Starting yum child process
07:05:27 : YUM: Loaded plugins: presto

07:05:27 : YUM: No plugin match for: refresh-packagekit

07:05:27 : WARNING: Yum is locked : Existing lock /var/run/yum.pid: another copy is running as pid 19395.
07:05:27 : WARNING: The other application is: python
07:05:27 : WARNING: Waiting 10 seconds and tries again !!!
07:05:37 : WARNING: Yum is locked : Existing lock /var/run/yum.pid: another copy is running as pid 19395.
07:05:37 : WARNING: The other application is: python
07:05:37 : WARNING: Waiting 10 seconds and tries again !!!

Edit: Update:
I run strace on it and got thiese:

open("/usr/share/yum-cli/multiprocessingmodule.so", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/share/yum-cli/multiprocessing.py", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/share/yum-cli/multiprocessing.pyc", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/bin/multiprocessing", 0xbf8d33e8) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/bin/multiprocessing.so", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/bin/multiprocessingmodule.so", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/bin/multiprocessing.py", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/bin/multiprocessing.pyc", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib/python2.6/multiprocessing", {st_mode=S_IFDIR|0755, st_size=4096, ...}) = 0
stat64("/usr/lib/python2.6/multiprocessing/__init__.py", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=7627, ...}) = 0
stat64("/usr/lib/python2.6/multiprocessing/__init__", 0xbf8d2388) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib/python2.6/multiprocessing/__init__.so", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib/python2.6/multiprocessing/__init__module.so", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib/python2.6/multiprocessing/__init__.py", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 4


All those libraries are missing here can anyone confirm that they have those files in their folders?
ps: The list is longer(5 MB long) I just put some here so to see if others that are not having this problem have the files.

If you want to run strace here:

strace -p [PID]
strace yum update
strace -o [path and name of a file to be created here like trace.txt] yum update

My uname -a is:

Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686.PAE #1 SMP Sat Nov 7 21:25:57 EST 2009 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

And I downloaded Fedora 12 DVD.iso from a mirror in Japan that I don't remember the name.

Edit: LAST UPDATE

After going back to Fedora 11 the same thing happened but this time yum didn't kept going he informed me that something was wrong and left a process running.

So I got the repos and I commented out the "mirror" parts of it and uncommented the baseurl part. Now its working.

This of course is a temporary solution as the best course is to have the mirrors working but since it will not work for now.you guys that are having this problem can comment the mirror list and uncomment the baseurl.

#baseurl=http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
mirrorlist=http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch

AFTER:

baseurl=http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
#mirrorlist=http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch

The repo files are locate in:

/etc/yum.repos.d/

Steps:

su -
cd /etc/yum.repos.d
gedit&

Throw all the rpmfusion repos that you find inside gedit and replace all mirrorlist= with #mirrorlist= and all #baseurl= with baseurl=

It worked in Fedora 11 if it will work in Fedora 12 I don't know yet.

Good luck to you all and thanks for those who tried to help

Cheers.

stivn
21st November 2009, 09:21 AM
Edit: LAST UPDATE

After going back to Fedora 11 the same thing happened but this time yum didn't kept going he informed me that something was wrong and left a process running.

So I got the repos and I commented out the "mirror" parts of it and uncommented the baseurl part. Now its working.

This of course is a temporary solution as the best course is to have the mirrors working but since it will not work for now.you guys that are having this problem can comment the mirror list and uncomment the baseurl.

#baseurl=http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
mirrorlist=http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch

AFTER:

baseurl=http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
#mirrorlist=http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch

The repo files are locate in:

/etc/yum.repos.d/

Steps:

su -
cd /etc/yum.repos.d
gedit&

Throw all the rpmfusion repos that you find inside gedit and replace all mirrorlist= with #mirrorlist= and all #baseurl= with baseurl=

It worked in Fedora 11 if it will work in Fedora 12 I don't know yet.

Good luck to you all and thanks for those who tried to help

Cheers.

Works well with F12 too. Thanx very much, strange bug.

hantsy
21st November 2009, 03:09 PM
I can not found Nvidia driver in the rpmfusion repository now( after upgraded to fedora 12)???