PDA

View Full Version : Having "Windows Vista Home Premium" in menu



theAdmiral
28th October 2009, 03:16 PM
How do I get "Windows Vista Home Premium" to show up in my boot menu? Right now is just says "Other". I am dual-booting.

Thank you kindly,

JN4OldSchool
28th October 2009, 03:28 PM
Open a terminal in Fedora and type:

su
gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

In gedit just scroll down to where it says other and replace it with what you want. Save and exit.

You can change the default timeout to increase the time you have to make an OS selection or just comment out that line by adding a # before it. That way it will not default to an OS but stay on the grub screen until you make a choice.

bob
28th October 2009, 03:30 PM
Use your favorite text editor (I prefer gedit), open a terminal, sign in as root (su -) and type this:


gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf

That will open a new window with your current menu. Just change "other" to whatever you want.

JN4OldSchool
28th October 2009, 03:31 PM
and BTW, you can edit either file, they are actually the same thing. menu.lst simply points to grub.conf.

dhimes
28th October 2009, 03:31 PM
The traditional way is to (as root) edit the /boot/grub/grub.conf file to change the title from "Other" to "WVHP" (you'll see where once you open the file-- probably near the end).

There may be a gui for it now, however.

bob
28th October 2009, 03:31 PM
Lousy, slow typing...beaten to the post again.... :(

BTW, either grub.conf or menu.lst will do it - your choice.