PDA

View Full Version : Problem playing mp3 with songbird

nirvana09
24th October 2009, 03:39 PM
Hi

I am a newbie in Fedora Core 11 and installed songbird via songbird wiki website.
I want to play mp3 files with songbird (which is basically why i downloaded it cos i dont like amarok) but when i try to play a file, it gives this message:

"MediaCore Error: An id3 tag demuxer plugin is required to play this stream, but not installed"

i searched a lot on web but couldnt find a solution

can anybody help me please!!!!!

thanks

Sagitter
24th October 2009, 04:22 PM
Try so:

close songbird, then:

# yum install xmms xmms-mp3 xmms-faad2 xmms-pulse xmms-skins

nirvana09
24th October 2009, 05:39 PM
Isnt that for playing mp3 files with xmms player? I dont want to use that program.

How can i play mp3s with songbird??

glennzo
24th October 2009, 05:46 PM
http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f11.html#mp3

nirvana09
24th October 2009, 05:52 PM
Still songbird does not exist in the link you posted. Does this mean that there is no way to play mp3s in songbird in fedora??

I still prefer a way to use songbird..

glennzo
24th October 2009, 05:54 PM
That link has nothing to do with SongBird and everything to do with being able to play *most* media formats with *most* of the media players.

nirvana09
24th October 2009, 05:57 PM
Yeah I realized it. But what about this "id3 muxer plugin" problem?? Anybody have an idea??

scottro
24th October 2009, 05:58 PM
The silly question, do you have mp3 support? (It's proprietary and I don't think it's included by default.).
The folks above have given suggestions for getting mp3 support--personally, I install mplayer from rpmfusion and get it that way--not sure how to *just* get mp3 support,

As mjmwired says (just reread Glennzo's link), there is no mp3 support included--that's your issue. I would add rpmfusion (there's a link in the mjmwired page) and maybe do yum search mp3.

Sagitter
24th October 2009, 06:11 PM
@Glennzo, @Scottro.