PDA

View Full Version : samba problem can see windows folders but cant open them

paxromana
3rd October 2004, 09:07 AM
hi all, im new to linux and i configured samba
i am able to browse the windows computer and i see the folders that i shared in my shared documents folder, but i am unable to open the folders and see then contents.

any ideas?

thanks

superbnerd
3rd October 2004, 10:12 AM
Details...
Why can't you open the folders and file? Is there an error message? Do you have samba users setup? Are you using "share" level security?

paxromana
3rd October 2004, 11:41 AM
i am using user security

when i try

smbclient \\\\spion\\
Password:

i get

Domain=[SPION] OS=[Windows 5.1] Server=[Windows 2000 LAN Manager]
tree connect failed: NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME

i used firefox and typed in this smb://spion
and i can see all the shared folders

but i cant open them

is there a property i need to set in the config file so i can see files or anythin like that

any ideas?

thanks

jayemef
4th October 2004, 03:42 AM
First of all, is the login name you are using on your linux machine the same as it is in your windows machine? Most of the time it is not, in which case you would use the -u or --user= arguments to specify your username. Also, in order to connect with smbclient, you generally need to know the computer name as well as the share name. So first try this:

smbclient -L //compname/ --user=username

If you're prompted for a password, just enter the password you use with that windows username. If the connection to the machine works, you will then be given a list of all the shares available on that particular machine. So lets say a directory named "shares" is available on that machine, and the machines name is spion. Then you would connect with the command

smbclient //spion/shares --user=username

If a connection is made, you can then type a question mark into the terminal to see the list of available commands. Hopefully this works for you...

paxromana