PDA

View Full Version : Intel vs AMD

troyatlarge
21st September 2009, 03:35 PM
I see Intel is in the news today (google news - if that is really "news") in a anti-trust case.

Aside from the wrongs of big boys showing their power, there is the matter of the actual chips in service. With my new job fixing computers (which is mainly getting rig of infections on Microsoft boxes) I have been very impressed as to how many AMD chips show up in a state of malfunction. The biggest malfunction is not directly their fault I am guessing - it has to do with the inability of them to update to service pack 3 for XP on many systems. The second case is less promising - they seem to have a thing about them which causes them to drastically over-heat, sometimes melting right through the mother board, something I have yet to see with an Intel chip.

Thus far, and I am rather new at fixing these boxes, is that I would very much avoid AMD as well as avoid buying anything from acer computers or any pure priority wear computers like Sony and a number of Dell's. In the latter cases you get things like a "new" size for a power supply, which is then dropped from production such that if you ever have a problem (which oddly enough seem common for such boxes) you can't get a replacement for under $80 - in short, the kind of unethical crap that governments should make illegal (in my opinion) is rampant in such boxes.

Anyway - that's my take from the fix-it shop.

JN4OldSchool
21st September 2009, 04:03 PM
When I worked as a mechanic we used to get more Fords in the shop. They used to have bad transmissions and they also overheated when you blocked the radiator. Stay away from Fords! :)

barry905
22nd September 2009, 04:07 AM