PDA

View Full Version : Stop Motion (any success!) (rpm rebuild/compiling failing)

isaac
23rd August 2009, 05:29 AM
(running Fedora 11 x86_64)

when trying to compile i get:

[root@dot stopmotion-0.6.2]# ./configure
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking for QtCore >= 4.0.1... configure: error: *** QtCore module not found or wrong version ***

i can't find a package for QtCore module

when i attempt to rebuild the source rpm i get

error: Failed build dependencies:
SDL_image1.2-devel is needed by stopmotion-0.4.1-1.src

i have SDL_image-devel installed, but i can't find SDL_image1.2-devel, i think it may be a MAndriva thing. can i somehow edit the source rpm to use SDL_image instead?

any tips?

optional reading:
i really like fedora better than ubuntu/mint but i might have to switch. i use fedora because i am an animator and i use maya 2009, but i need video editing programs for editing and a stop motion program for indulging in the physical side of animation.i know it's possible to get Maya running in ubuntu. does anyone know if it runs as well/stable in ubuntu?

i was about to switch, not having found a good video editor in the repositories, until i came across kdenlive, which is good enough for my needs. i want to install openmovieeditor, cinelerra, and stop motion, but when i attempt to compile from source i'm always met with problems such as above.

would it be worth while to switch to a distro i like using less and deal with setting up Maya 2009 on Kubuntu, and in return get a wealth of video editing software. I guess it depends on how well maya runs in ubuntu and whether i can figure out how to install Stop Motion in fedora.

Hlingler
23rd August 2009, 05:51 AM
Try:
yum install PyQt4 PyQt4-devel

Try again.

V

isaac
23rd August 2009, 07:13 AM
Awesome, thanks man. it is installed and working, if anyone knows about the source rpm problem, i'd still like to know just out of curiousity, i don't know much about editing rpm files or spec files